Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

2017 Oilers Skills Competition: Blue wins 21-6

Videos, updates and more from a fun-filled day at Rogers Place

by Paul Gazzola /

Video: SKILLS | Slow Mo

Sunday Team Blue defeated Team Orange 21-6 at the Oilers Skills Competition presented by Rogers! We streamed the event LIVE and also updated with videos, clips and more throughout the afternoon. 

View all of our content below!

Here's a look at the rosters for each team:


Laurent Brossoit (G), Andrej Sekera, Matthew Benning, Connor McDavid, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Leon Draisaitl, Milan Lucic, Mark Letestu, Jujhar Khaira, Benoit Pouliot


Cam Talbot (G), Oscar Klefbom, Eric Gryba, Brandon Davidson, Jordan Eberle, Drake Caggiula, Patrick Maroon, Zack Kassian, Matt Hendricks, Anton Slepyshev



Match-Up (Minor Hockey):

Team Blue - Tanner Scott - 16.187 

Team Orange - Ty Hurley - 16.614 

Forward Skating Match-Ups:

Benoit Pouliot (13.895) vs. Anton Slepyshev (14.571)

Jujhar Khaira (13.941) vs. Drake Caggiula (14.111)

Connor McDavid (13.382) vs. Zack Kassian (14.179)

  • Winner of each match-up is awarded one point

  • Team with fastest skater is awarded one point (McDavid)

  • Team Blue 5, Team Orange 0

Backward Skating Match-ups:

Matt Benning (15.851) vs. Brandon Davidson (16.721)

  • Team with fastest backward skater is awarded one point (Benning)

  • Team Blue 6, Team Orange 0


Each shooter will attempt two shots, and teams will alternate after each shot. Style, creativity, and flair are encouraged. NHL penalty shot rules do not apply.


Match-Up (Minor Hockey)

Team Blue - Jag Zaharia

Team Orange - Ty Thornton - Ty Thornton wins

  • One point awarded to the winner. (Thornton)

  • Team Blue 6, Team Orange 1

Match-Up (Oilers)

Drake Caggiula vs. Matt Benning 
Jordan Eberle vs. Ryan Nugent-Hopkins
Patrick Maroon vs. Mark Letestu

  • One point awarded to the winner of each fan vote.

  • Extra point to Mike Hurley (Team Blue) who beat Tom Gazzola in the sledgehockey breakaway challenge

  • Team Blue 8, Team Orange 3




Match-Up (Minor Hockey):

Team Blue - Reid Schechtel (4-for-7)
Team Orange - Connor Dick (3-for-7)

Match-Up (Oilers):

Anton Slepyshev (3-for-7) vs. Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (4-for-5)
Oscar Klefbom (4-for-6) vs. Connor McDavid (4-for-6)
Jordan Eberle (4-for-6) vs. Mark Letestu (4-for-7)

  • Team with individual winner is awarded one point

  • Team with most targets in fewest shot attempts is awarded one point (Nugent Hopkins)

  • Team Blue 11, Team Orange 3



1. One-Timers (2 per)

Team Blue - Mark Letestu 
Team Blue - Andrej Sekera 

Team Orange - Oscar Klefbom
Team Orange - Eric Gryba

2. Saucer Pass (1 per)

Team Blue - Ryan Nugent-Hopkins

Team Orange - Matt Hendricks

3. Puck Control (2 per)

Team Blue - Connor McDavid
Team Blue - Benoit Pouliot

Team Orange - Anton Slepyshev
Team Orange - Patrick Maroon

4. Goalie Goal (1 per)

Team Blue - Laurent Brossoit
Team Orange - Cam Talbot

  • Winning team is awarded five points. Team Blue (1:32.1) defeats Team Orange (1:35.5)

  • Team Blue 16, Team Orange 3



Match-Up (Minor Hockey):

Team Blue - Grayden Krislock (68 mph)
Team Orange - Andie Proulx (64.6 mph)

Team Orange:

Brandon Davidson (90.2 mph)
Pat Maroon (92.5 mph)
Eric Gryba (95.5 mph)
Matt Hendricks (92.1 mph)

Team Blue:

Andrej Sekera (91.5 mph)
Matt Benning (97.2 mph)
Benoit Pouliot (102.2 mph)
Milan Lucic (102.7 mph)

  • Winning minor hockey team is awarded one point (Team Blue)

  • Team with hardest individual shot is awarded one point (Team Blue - Lucic)

  • Team with highest average is awarded one point (Team Blue)

  • Team Blue 19, Team Orange 3



Minor Hockey (4 per):

Team Blue: Brayden Bablitz, Owen Boyle, Toby Thornton

Team Orange: Ryan Bablitz, Haedon Boyechko, Owen Henkleman, Rylan Hildebrand

Oilers (Full Team):

Team Orange:

Zack Kassian
Oscar Klefbom
Eric Gryba
Brandon Davidson
Anton Slepyshev
Drake Caggiula
Patrick Maroon
Matt Hendricks
Jordan Eberle

Team Blue:

Jujhar Khaira
Andrej Sekera
Matt Benning
Benoit Pouliot
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins
Leon Draisaitl
Milan Lucic
Mark Letestu
Connor McDavid


  • For the kids portion of the event, each goal is worth one point 

  • For the Oilers portion of the event, each goal is worth one point


  • Players keep shooting until they miss

  • Last shooter for Team Orange is Anton Slepyshev, Team Blue's is Mark Letestu

  • Mark Letestu is the King of the Shootout

  • Team Blue 21, Team Orange 6

View More