Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

2011 Quikcard Edmonton Minor Hockey Week Launches

by Edmonton Oilers Press Release / Edmonton Oilers
Oilers President & CEO Patrick LaForge speaks at today's Quikcard Minor Hockey Week launch. (Photo by Dylan Lynch / EOHC).

Over 8,500 grassroots hockey players will be taking over Edmonton rinks next week as the 48th Quikcard Edmonton Minor Hockey Week launched today with a press conference at Rexall Place. Proud sponsors of Edmonton Minor Hockey Week, members of the Edmonton Oilers and Edmonton Oil Kings were present, including President and CEO Patrick LaForge, along with event sponsors, volunteers, coaches and a select number of players.

 “The Oilers are proud to support minor hockey throughout Oil Country,” said LaForge. “Both of my sons have participated in this event as players and officials. It is a special experience and something which will be remembered by all the players involved.”

Following speeches and an overview of the week’s activities, this year’s three recipients of the annual Wayne Gretzky Recreational Hockey Award and scholarships were presented with their honours. Curtis Smith, Nicolas Beland and Andrew Stewart took home the awards for best exemplifying good sportsmanship and dedication to the game as well as scholastic achievement and community involvement.

During the 2011 Quikcard Edmonton Minor Hockey Week, 515 teams from Edmonton, Fort Saskatchewan, Stony Plain, Spruce Grove, Sherwood Park and St. Albert will be taking part in a total of 741 games. To kick-off the annual event, Opening Ceremonies will be held on Saturday, January 15 at the Terwillegar Recreation Centre at 12:45pm.

For more information on times and locations, please visit

View More