Skip to Main Content

Yzerman, Hull, Robitaille, Leetch get Hall of Fame @NHLdotcom

Steve Yzerman, Brett Hull, Luc Robitaille and Brian Leetch are going into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

The selection committee announced on a conference call Tuesday it had elected the maximum four players this year. All were eligible for the first time.

Yzerman retired in the summer of 2006 with the sixth-highest point total in NHL history. The longtime Detroit Red Wings captain won the Stanley Cup three times and a gold medal with Canada in the 2002 Olympics.

Hull's 741 goals rank third all-time, Robitaille's 668 are the most by a left wing and Leetch is one of just five defensemen to have a 100-point season.

A player must be retired for three seasons before becoming eligible to enter the Hall. The induction ceremony will be Nov. 9.

New Jersey Devils president Lou Lamoriello was also elected in the builder category.

Yzerman, Hull and Robitaille won a Stanley Cup together with the Detroit Red Wings in 2002.

Hull retired in 2005 after a 19-year career with the Calgary Flames, St. Louis Blues, Dallas Stars, Red Wings and Phoenix Coyotes. He scored 86 goals in 1991 and received the Hart Trophy as league MVP.

His 741 goals trail only Wayne Gretzky and Gordie Howe. His 24 career playoff game-winning goals are tied with Gretzky for the most in NHL history. He scored the Stanley Cup-winning goal for the Stars in the third overtime of Game 6 of the 1999 finals.

He's now the Stars' executive vice president.

Leetch became the first American-born player to earn the Conn Smythe Trophy after leading the New York Rangers to the Stanley Cup in 1994. He also twice won the Norris Trophy as the league's top defenseman.

Robitaille received the Calder Trophy as the league's top rookie in 1987.

At least 14 of the Hall's 18-member selection committee must vote for a player for him to be elected.

View More