Skip to Main Content

Yzerman, Hull await call from Hall @NHLdotcom

TORONTO (AP) -Steve Yzerman, Brett Hull and Luc Robitaille are waiting by the phone.

The three former NHL stars won a Stanley Cup together with the Detroit Red Wings in 2002. On Tuesday, they could be part of the same Hockey Hall of Fame class.

They're among an impressive list of first-time eligible players that also includes Brian Leetch, Alexander Mogilny and Dave Andreychuk.

The Hall's 18-member selection committee will announce its newest members on Tuesday and can choose only four players. The voters can also elect members into the builders and referee/linesmen categories.

Yzerman, the longtime Detroit Red Wings captain, retired in the summer of 2006 with the sixth-highest point total in NHL history. His 1,755 trail Wayne Gretzky, Mark Messier, Gordie Howe, Ron Francis and Marcel Dionne; those five are in the Hall.

Yzerman also is a three-time Stanley Cup winner and won a gold medal with Canada in the 2002 Olympics. His trophy case includes a Lester B. Pearson Award, Conn Smythe Trophy, Selke Trophy and Masterton Trophy.

Hull, Robitaille and Leetch also can make strong cases for induction.

All three won Stanley Cups and were among the best in the game at their positions. Hull's 741 goals rank third all-time, Robitaille's 668 are the most by a left wing in history, and Leetch is one of just five defensemen ever to have a 100-point season.

They've also each won at least one major individual award.

Hull scored 86 goals in 1991 and was recognized with the Hart Trophy as league MVP. Leetch earned the Conn Smythe Trophy after helping the New York Rangers to the Stanley Cup in 1994, was twice given the Norris Trophy as the league's top defensemen, and was rookie of the year in 1989. Robitaille received the Calder Trophy as top rookie in 1987.

Mogilny and Andreychuk put together solid careers and won a championship.

Andreychuk scored 640 goals and 1,338 points during his 23-year career, while Mogilny had 473 goals and 1,032 points before being forced into retirement by a knee injury.

No matter who gets elected, this year's class appears destined to be just as accomplished as the 2007 group. Messier, Francis, Al MacInnis and Scott Stevens were all inducted in the players category that year.

A player must be retired for three seasons before becoming eligible to enter the Hall. This year's induction ceremony will be Nov. 9.

It has already been announced that Dave Molinari of the Pittsburgh Post Gazette will receive the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for hockey journalism, while John Davidson will be given the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a broadcaster.

View More