Skip to main content

WSH @ PHI - 3:08 of the Third Period

NHL.com @NHL

At 3:08 of the third period in the Washington Capitals/Philadelphia Flyers game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Philadelphia net. Video review was inconclusive in determining whether Nicklas Backstrom's stick was at or below the level of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the net. The referee's call on the ice was good goal. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed". Therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - good goal Washington.

View More