Skip to main content
Situation Room

Situation Room Initiated Challenge: WPG @ MIN

Original call stands - good goal Jets

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: WPG vs. MIN

Situation Room: Scheifele's goal stands after review

The referees review Mark Scheifele's goal for goaltender interference, and after review, the call stands as a good goal

  • 01:25 •

At 19:41 of the third period in the Jets/Wild game, the Situation Room initiated a review under the terms of a Coach's Challenge to review whether a Winnipeg player interfered with Minnesota goaltender Devan Dubnyk prior to Mark Scheifele's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that the actions of Minnesota's Matt Dumba caused Winnipeg's Mathieu Perreault to contact Dubnyk before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance with Note 2 of Rule 78.7 (ii) which states, in part, that the goal on the ice should have been allowed because "the attacking Player was pushed, shoved or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Winnipeg Jets. 

--- 

NOTE: In the final minute of play in the third period and at any point in Overtime (Regular Season and Playoffs), Hockey Operations will initiate the review of any scenario that would otherwise be subject to a Coach's Challenge. 

--- 

Coach's Challenge 
1. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge to review the following scenarios: 

a) "Off-Side" Play Leading to a Goal 
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the play should have been stopped by reason of an "Off-Side" infraction by the attacking team. 

b) Scoring Plays Involving Potential "Interference on the Goalkeeper" 

(i) A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4; or 

(ii) A play that results in a "NO GOAL" call on the ice despite the puck having entered the net, where the on-ice Officials have determined that the attacking team was guilty of "Interference on the Goalkeeper" but where the attacking team asserts: (i) there was no actual contact of any kind initiated by an attacking Player with the goalkeeper; or (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper; or (iii) the attacking Player's positioning within the goal crease did not impair the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal and, in fact, had no discernible impact on the play. 

2. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge if they have their time-out available and the Coach's Challenge must be effectively initiated prior to the resumption of play. 

3. If the Coach's Challenge does not result in the original call on the ice being overturned, the team exercising such challenge will forfeit its time-out. 

4. If the Coach's Challenge does result in the call on the ice being overturned, the team successfully exercising such challenge will retain its time-out.

View More