Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: WPG @ ARI - 14:50 of the Third Period

Original call is overturned - no goal Arizona Coyotes @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: WPG vs. ARI

Situation Room: Archibald's goal overturned in 3rd

The Jets challenge Josh Archibald's goal in the 3rd for goaltender interference, and the call on the ice is overturned

  • 02:35 •

At 14:50 of the third period in the Jets/Coyotes game, Winnipeg requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Arizona's Josh Archibald interfered with goaltender Connor Hellebuyck prior to his goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Referees, the Situation Room determined that the actions of Archibald impaired Hellebuyck's ability to play his position in the crease. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a "GOAL" call on the ice is that the NHL Situation Room (which shall include a former referee in the Officiating Department in the decision-making process), after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Referee who made the original call, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore, the original call is overturned - no goal Arizona Coyotes.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Winnipeg Jets retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.