Skip to main content

Wild shuffle lines against Predators

by Dan Myers

ST. PAUL, Minn. -- In an effort to snap a three-game losing skid, the Minnesota Wild have made a couple of adjustments to their lineup prior to their game against the Nashville Predators.

Rookie center Mikael Granlund will be reassuming his role as the team's second line center between Dany Heatley and Devin Setoguchi, two wings who have combined for 456 NHL goals.

Matt Cullen will be shuffled back to left wing, this time on the team's third line.

Pierre-Marc Bouchard, who has three points on the season, has been moved to the fourth line, an assignment that has sparked both Granlund and Setoguchi in recent games. Setoguchi played on the fourth line the past two games and responded with perhaps his strongest games of the season.

Defenseman Nate Prosser, who has been a healthy scratch for the past two weeks, will get the nod on the Wild's third defensive pairing in place of Marco Scandella.

Zach Parise, who missed Friday's practice with an illness, said he feels much better and will be ready to go.

Niklas Backstrom will start in goal 48 hours after allowing four goals on 16 shots before being pulled against the Vancouver Canucks on Thursday night.

The Predators, winners of four straight, will make minimal changes to their lineup. Chris Mason, who has played in one game this season -- a 29-save effort in a 3-1 win against the Wild at Xcel Energy Center on Jan. 22 -- will start tonight.

With their winning streak intact, expect the Predators to again dress seven defensemen, which could force coach Barry Trotz to do some shuffling among the bottom six forwards.

Here are the projected lineups for tonight's matchup between the Predators and Wild:


Gabriel Bourque - David Legwand - Colin Wilson

Sergei Kostitsyn - Mike Fisher - Martin Erat

Brandon Yip - Nick Spaling - Craig Smith

Jonathon Blum - Paul Gaustad - Rich Clune

Scott Hannan - Shea Weber

Roman Josi - Ryan Ellis

Hal Gill - Kevin Klein

Chris Mason

Pekka Rinne


Zach Parise - Mikko Koivu - Charlie Coyle

Dany Heatley - Mikael Granlund - Devin Setoguchi

Matt Cullen - Kyle Brodziak - Cal Clutterbuck

Mike Rupp - Zenon Konopka - Pierre-Marc Bouchard

Ryan Suter - Jonas Brodin

Tom Gilbert - Clayton Stoner

Nate Prosser - Justin Falk

Niklas Backstrom

Josh Harding

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.