Skip to main content

WHL roster named for 2014 Subway Super Series @NHLdotcom

Five players picked in the first round of the 2014 NHL Draft were named Thursday by the Canadian Hockey League to the roster for the Western Hockey League team that will play against Russia in the opening two games of the 2014 Subway Super Series.

The WHL will play Russia in Game 1 of the six-game series Nov. 10 in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. The second game will be played the following day in Brandon, Manitoba. The rosters for the Russian team, as well as the Ontario Hockey League and Quebec Major Junior Hockey League teams, will be announced soon.

Among the top prospects from the 2014 draft picked for the WHL roster were forwards Jake Virtanen (Vancouver Canucks, No. 6), Conner Bleackley (Colorado Avalanche, No. 23) and John Quenneville (New Jersey Devils, No. 30), and defensemen Haydn Fleury (Carolina Hurricanes, No. 7) and Travis Sanheim (Philadelphia Flyers, No. 17).

Also picked were three first-round picks from the 2013 draft: defensemen Joshua Morrissey (Winnipeg Jets, No. 13) and Shea Theodore (Anaheim Ducks, No. 26), and forward Morgan Klimchuk (Calgary Flames, No. 28).

The WHL team will be coached by 2014 WHL Coach of the Year Dave Lowry (Victoria Royals), who will also serve as an assistant coach for Canada at the 2015 IIHF World Junior Championship. Kelly McCrimmon (Brandon Wheat Kings) will serve as an assistant coach.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.