Skip to Main Content
Greatest Moments

Gretzky, Lemieux, Orr, Selanne in Greatest Moment semifinals

Four NHL legends still standing with fan voting entering fifth week @NHLdotcom

How's this for a final four: Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Bobby Orr and Teemu Selanne.

After four weeks of fan voting in the Greatest NHL Moments Presented by Coors Light and Pepsi Zero Sugar, the four Hockey Hall of Famers are the last ones standing entering the semifinal round.


Vote now for the Greatest NHL moment!


The matchups are intriguing, with Gretzky scoring his 50th goal in his 39th game on Dec. 30, 1981, against Lemieux scoring five goals in five different ways on Dec. 31, 1988. The other semifinal has Bobby Orr's iconic overtime goal that won the Stanley Cup in 1970 against Teemu Selanne breaking the rookie goal-scoring mark with a hat trick on March 2, 1993, on his way to a 76-goal season.

The original bracket of 64 moments was determined by a blue-ribbon panel consisting of broadcasters from NHL national rightsholders NBC Sports Group, NHL Network, Sportsnet and TVA Sports.

Lemieux's moment defeated the Stastny brothers each scoring eight points in a game in the first round, Gretzky scoring his NHL-record 802nd goal in the second round, the New York Islanders winning their fourth straight Stanley Cup championship in the third round and Darryl Sittler's 10-point game in the fourth round.

Video: Greatest NHL Moments: Lemieux vs. Gretzky

Gretzky's road to the semifinal saw his moment defeat Martin St. Louis' goal in Game 6 of the 2004 Stanley Cup Final in the first round, Lemieux's spectacular goal in the 1991 Stanley Cup Final in the second round, Gretzky himself becoming the fastest player to 1,000 points in the third round and Orr becoming the first defenseman to score 100 points in a season (1969-70) in the fourth round.

Selanne, who was inducted into Hockey Hall of Fame on Monday, took out some big names along the way to the round of four. His moment defeated Sidney Crosby and Alex Ovechkin each scoring a hat trick in the same playoff game in 2009 in the first round, the Philadelphia Flyers' 35-game unbeaten streak in the second round, Ron Hextall becoming the first goalie to score a goal by shooting the puck into the net in the third round and Martin Brodeur becoming the all-time leader in wins by a goaltender in the fourth round.

Orr defeated Mud Bruneteau's winning goal in the sixth overtime of a 1936 playoff game in the first round, Steve Yzerman's double-overtime goal in Game 7 of the 1996 Western Conference Final, Joe Sakic handing the Stanley Cup to Ray Bourque after the Colorado Avalanche's Game 7 victory in 2001 in the third round and Gordie Howe becoming the first NHL player to 1,000 points in the fourth round.

Video: Greatest NHL Moments: Orr vs. Selanne

To vote on the semifinal matchups, fans can visit They can also join the conversation using the hashtag #NHLGreatestMoments. The fans' choice for the Greatest NHL Moment will be announced during the 2017 Scotiabank NHL100 Classic between the Montreal Canadiens and Ottawa Senators at Lansdowne Park in Ottawa on Dec. 16.

Here are the voting dates:

Nov. 15-21 - Semifinals

Nov. 22-28 - Final

Dec. 16 -- Greatest NHL Moment announced at 2017 Scotiabank NHL100 Classic

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.