Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Video Review: ARI @ LAK - 14:31 of the Third Period

This is not a reviewable play, no goal Los Angeles. @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: ARI vs. LAK

Situation Room: Kings' no-goal confirmed after review

Video review determines that play was stopped prior to the puck crossing the goal line on a Kings' power play, and the no-goal call stands

  • 01:19 •

At 14:31 of the third period in the Coyotes/Kings game, the referee initiated a video review because the puck entered the Arizona net. The Situation Room informed the referee the original shot did not enter the Arizona net, but was saved and remained between Coyotes goaltender Mike Smith's legs. At that point the referee informed the Situation Room that he had blown his whistle to stop play before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.5, apparent goals shall be disallowed "when the Referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle."  This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal Los Angeles.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.