Skip to main content
Situation Room

Video Review: ARI @ FLA - 7:38 of the Second Period

Review confirmed puck crossed the goal line before net became displaced, good goal Florida @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: ARI vs. FLA

Situation Room: Thornton's goal stands after review

Shawn Thornton scores as the net falls down, and after official review, the call stands as a good goal in the 2nd period

  • 04:20 •

At 7:38 of the second period in the Coyotes/Panthers game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine if the Arizona net became displaced prior to Shawn Thornton's goal. Video review confirmed that puck crossed the Arizona goal line before the net became displaced. According to Rule 78.4 "The goal frame shall be considered in its proper position when at least a portion of the flexible peg(s) are still inside both the goal post and the hole in the ice. The flexible pegs could be bent, but as long as at least a portion of the flexible peg(s) are still in the hole in the ice and the goal post, the goal frame shall be deemed to be in its proper position. The goal frame could be raised somewhat on one post (or both), but as long as the flexible pegs are still in contact with the holes in the ice and the goal posts, the goal frame shall not be deemed to be displaced". Good goal Florida.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.