Skip to main content


Video Review: CGY @ STL - 4:00 of the Third Period @NHL

At 4:00 of the third period in the Calgary Flames/St. Louis Blues game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the St. Louis net. The original call was "no goal" but after the four on-ice officials huddled, the call on the ice was changed to "good goal." Video review was inconclusive in determining whether Sean Monahan's stick was at or below the height of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the net. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Therefore the final on-ice decision stands - good goal Calgary.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.