Skip to main content
World Juniors

U.S. finalizes roster for World Junior Championship

Seven players return from team that won 2017 tournament

by Mike G. Morreale @mikemorrealeNHL / Staff Writer

The United States National Junior Team finalized its 23-player roster for the 2018 IIHF World Junior Championship on Saturday, one day after a 3-1 exhibition victory against Sweden at Erie Insurance Arena in Erie, Pennsylvania.

Harvard University forward Jack Badini (Anaheim Ducks), Western Michigan University forward Hugh McGing (2018 NHL Draft eligible), and Yale University defenseman Philip Kemp (Edmonton Oilers) were the final three players released.

Harvard defenseman Reilly Walsh (New Jersey Devils) was released from the team on Wednesday following a 14-0 exhibition win against Belarus at Northwest Arena in Jamestown, New York.

Of the 23 players named to the roster, 16 have previously represented the United States in IIHF tournament play, including seven who helped the U.S. win the gold medal at the 2017 tournament.

The United States also announced that University of Minnesota defenseman Ryan Lindgren (Boston Bruins), Harvard defenseman Adam Fox (Calgary Flames), and Portland forward Kieffer Bellows (New York Islanders) will serve as alternate captains. University of Minnesota Duluth forward Joey Anderson (Devils) was named captain on Sunday.

The 2018 WJC will be held at KeyBank Center and HarborCenter in Buffalo from Dec. 26 through Jan. 5.

The U.S., which won the gold medal in the 2017 tournament by defeating Canada 5-4 in a shootout in the championship game, will open against Denmark in a Group A preliminary-round game at KeyBank Center on Tuesday (8 p.m. ET; NHLN, TSN, RDS). The U.S. also will play Slovakia, Canada and Finland. The match against Canada will take place outdoors at New Era Field, home to the NFL's Buffalo Bills, on Friday (3 p.m. ET; NHLN, TSN, RDS).



Goalies: Jake Oettinger, Boston University, H-EAST (Dallas Stars); Joseph Woll, Boston College, H-EAST (Toronto Maple Leafs); Jeremy Swayman, Maine, H-EAST (Boston Bruins)

Defensemen: Michael Anderson, Minnesota Duluth, NCHC (Los Angeles Kings); Adam Fox, Harvard, ECAC (Calgary Flames); Quintin Hughes, Michigan, BIG10 (2018 draft eligible); Ryan Lindgren, Minnesota, BIG10 (Boston Bruins); Andrew Peeke, Notre Dame, H-EAST (Columbus Blue Jackets); Dylan Samberg, Minnesota Duluth, NCHC (Winnipeg Jets); Scott Perunovich, Minnesota Duluth, NCHC (2018 draft eligible)

Forwards: Joseph Anderson, Minnesota Duluth, NCHC (New Jersey Devils); Kieffer Bellows, Portland, WHL (New York Islanders); Logan Brown, Windsor, OHL (Ottawa Senators); Trent Frederic, Wisconsin, Big Ten (Boston Bruins); Patrick Harper, Boston University, H-EAST (Nashville Predators); Max Jones, London, OHL (Anaheim Ducks); William Lockwood, Michigan, Big Ten (Vancouver Canucks); Casey Mittelstadt, Minnesota, Big Ten (Buffalo Sabres); Joshua Norris, Michigan, Big Ten (San Jose Sharks); Ryan Poehling, St. Cloud State, NCHC (Montreal Canadiens); Brady Tkachuk, Boston University, H-EAST (2018 draft eligible); Riley Tufte, Minnesota Duluth, NCHC (Dallas Stars); Kailer Yamamoto, Spokane, WHL (Edmonton Oilers)

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.