Skip to main content

USA Hockey building World Championship roster

by Adam Kimelman

USA Hockey on Wednesday named the first 17 players to the roster for the 2012 IIHF World Championship, to be held May 4-20 in Helsinki and Stockholm.

Named to the team were 11 forwards, five defensemen and one goalie -- Dallas Stars rookie Richard Bachman.

USA Hockey will fill out its roster further after teams are eliminated from the Stanley Cup Playoffs. They can carry a maximum of 22 players -- including three goalies -- and can add up to two additional players after the first three games.

Two players from last year's eighth-place team return -- Anaheim defenseman Cam Fowler and Columbus defenseman Jack Johnson.

Other defensemen named to the team were Carolina's Justin Faulk, Dallas' Alex Goligoski and Edmonton's Jeff Petry.

The U.S. team also will feature a pair of 30-goal scorers in Montreal's Max Pacioretty and Anaheim forward Bobby Ryan.

Other forwards named were Columbus' Cam Atkinson, Tampa Bay's J.T. Brown and Nate Thompson, Carolina's Patrick Dwyer, Buffalo's Nathan Gerbe, the Islanders' Kyle Okposo, Winnipeg's Jim Slater and Colorado's Paul Stastny.

Of the 17 players, all but one currently plays in the NHL. Right wing Ryan Lasch, a native of Lake Forest, Calif., had 62 points in 59 games with Lahti in the Finnish Elite League. He played collegiately at St. Cloud State University.

Toronto Maple Leafs assistant coach Scott Gordon will coach the team.

Contact Adam Kimelman at Follow him on Twitter: @NHLAdamK

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.