Skip to main content

U.S. makes final cut for 2014 World Juniors

by Mike G. Morreale

The final roster for the United States National Junior Team that will compete in the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship in Malmo, Sweden, was finalized Wednesday with the release of University of Michigan forward Tyler Motte.

Motte, a 2013 fourth-round pick (No. 121) of the Chicago Blackhawks in the 2013 NHL Draft, has five goals and eight points in 14 games this season.

The U.S. National Junior Team roster consists of 13 forwards, seven defensemen and three goalies. The defending gold medalists will open preliminary-round play in the tournament Thursday against the Czech Republic (11:30 a.m. ET, NHLN-US,

Miami University forward Riley Barber (Washington Capitals) will serve as captain, with University of Michigan forward Andrew Copp (Winnipeg Jets) and Boston University defenseman Matthew Grzelcyk (Boston Bruins) are the alternates.

The United States will compete in Group A during preliminary-round competition, along with Canada, Czech Republic, Slovakia and Germany.


GOALIES: *Jon Gillies, Providence College, HEA (Calgary); Anthony Stolarz, London, OHL (Philadelphia); Thatcher Demko, Boston College, HEA (2014 draft eligible)

DEFENSEMEN: Matthew Grzelcyk, Boston University, HEA (Boston); Brady Skjei, University of Minnesota, Big Ten (New York Rangers); Ian McCoshen, Boston College, HEA (Florida); Steven Santini, Boston College, HEA (New Jersey); Will Butcher, University of Denver, NCHC (Colorado); Connor Carrick, Plymouth, OHL (Washington); Jaccob Slavin, Colorado College, NCHC (Carolina).

FORWARDS: Nicolas Kerdiles, University of Wisconsin, Big Ten (Anaheim); Adam Erne, Quebec, QMJHL (Tampa Bay); Stefan Matteau, Rimouski, QMJHL (New Jersey); Thomas Di Pauli, University of Notre Dame, HEA (Washington); Daniel O'Regan, Boston University, HEA (San Jose); Jack Eichel, USA U-18, USHL (2015 draft eligible); Andrew Copp, University of Michigan, Big Ten (Winnipeg); Quentin Shore, University of Denver, NCHC (Ottawa); *Ryan Hartman, Plymouth, OHL (Chicago); *Riley Barber, Miami University, NCHC (Washington); Hudson Fasching, University of Minnesota, Big Ten (Los Angeles); Vince Hinostroza, University of Notre Dame, HEA (Chicago); Zach Stepan, Minnesota State University, WCHA (Nashville).

*- Returning player

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.