Skip to main content


Top rookie Puempel headlines Canada's Hlinka camp

by Adam Kimelman /
Last year, Tyler Seguin used the Ivan Hlinka Memorial Tournament as a springboard to a season that saw him tie for the Ontario Hockey League scoring title and become the second pick of the 2010 Entry Draft.

Will someone else use the tournament in the same way? Well, players from Canada will have their chance when the men's under-18 summer evaluation camp is held July 31-Aug. 3. The roster for nation's entry to the Ivan Hlinka Memorial Tournament, to be held Aug. 9-14 in Slovakia and the Czech Republic, will come from this camp.

Belleville Bulls coach George Burnett, who will coach the Hlinka team, will oversee the camp, along with assistant coaches Jim Hiller (Tri-City Americans) and Ron Choules (Acadie-Bathurst Titan).

Of the 41 players who will be on the ice, 38 are eligible for the 2011 Entry Draft. Among those leading that group is Peterborough Petes left wing Matt Puempel, who was named the Canadian Hockey League Rookie of the Year after leading all first-year Ontario Hockey League players in scoring with 33 goals and 64 points. Oshawa Generals center Boone Jenner, who finished second in OHL rookie scoring with 49 points, also will be at the camp.

Red Deer Rebels center Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, who tied for fourth in scoring among first-year Western Hockey League players with 65 points, also will take part in the camp.

Three players for the 2012 draft also were invited to the camp -- defensemen Cody Ceci from the Ottawa 67s and Ryan Murray from the Everett Silvertips, and Baie-Comeau Drakkar forward Raphael Bussieres. Murray played on last year's Hlinka team.

The 2009 team, led by a top line of Seguin, Tyler Toffoli and John McFarland, saw Canada win its second straight gold medal and fifth in the last six years.

Contact Adam Kimelman at

GOALTENDERS:  Robin Gusse, Chicoutimi (QMJHL), Liam Liston, St. Albert (AMHL), Jeffrey Noonan, Laval-Montreal (LHMAAAQ), Tyson Teichman, Belleville (OHL).

DEFENSEMEN: Myles Bell, Regina (WHL), Cody Ceci, Ottawa (OHL), Dougie Hamilton, Niagara (OHL), Scott Harrington, London (OHL), Ryan Murphy, Kitchener (OHL), Ryan Murray, Everett (WHL), Jimmy Oligny, PEI (QMJHL), Xavier Ouellet, Montreal (QMJHL), Stuart Percy, Mississauga St. Michael's (OHL), Jonathan Racine, Shawinigan (QMJHL), Reece Scarlett, Swift Current (WHL).

FORWARDS: Brent Andrews, Halifax (QMJHL), Olivier Archambault, Val d'Or (QMJHL), Austen Brassard, Belleville (OHL), David Broll, Erie (OHL), Raphael Bussieres, Baie-Comeau (QMJHL), Daniel Catenacci, Sault Ste. Marie (OHL), Michael Curtis, Belleville (OHL), Phillip Danault, Victoriaville (QMJHL), Jonathan Huberdeau, Saint John (QMJHL), Boone Jenner, Oshawa (OHL), Jean-Francois Leblanc, Val d'Or (QMJHL), Lucas Lessio, Oshawa (OHL), Adam Lowry, Swift Current (WHL), Mark McNeill, Prince Albert (WHL), Garrett Meurs, Plymouth (OHL), Bryce Milson, Acadie-Bathurst (QMJHL), Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Red Deer (WHL), Matt Puempel, Peterborough (OHL), Alan Quine, Kingston (OHL), Ty Rattie, Portland (WHL), Brett Ritchie, Sarnia (OHL), Michael St. Croix, Edmonton (WHL), Carter Sandlak, Guelph (OHL), Colin Smith, Kamloops (WHL).

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.