Skip to Main Content

Three Blue Jackets highlight 2015 All-Star selections @NHLdotcom

Forwards Nick Foligno and Ryan Johansen and goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky will represent the host Columbus Blue Jackets at the 2015 Honda NHL All-Star Game.

The three Blue Jackets were among 36 players named by the League on Saturday. Six rookies also were chosen to participate in the 2015 Honda NHL All-Star Skills Competition.

The All-Star Game will be played Jan. 25 at Nationwide Arena (5 p.m. ET; NBCSN, CBC, TVA Sports). Teams will be selected at the 2015 NHL All-Star Fantasy Draft presented by DraftKings on Jan. 23 (8 p.m. ET; NBCSN, SN, TVA Sports). The two captains who will pick the teams will be announced next week.

Each of the 30 NHL teams will have at least one representative in the game; 21 forwards, 10 defensemen and five goalies were added to six players chosen by fan vote: Buffalo Sabres forward Zemgus Girgensons, and Chicago Blackhawks forwards Patrick Kane and Jonathan Toews, defensemen Duncan Keith and Brent Seabrook, and goaltender Corey Crawford.

The Stanley Cup champion Los Angeles Kings will be represented by forward Anze Kopitar and defenseman Drew Doughty.

The Philadelphia Flyers (Claude Giroux, Jakub Voracek), Pittsburgh Penguins (Sidney Crosby, Evgeni Malkin) and Tampa Bay Lightning (Tyler Johnson, Steven Stamkos) each had two forwards selected.

Former Blue Jackets forward Rick Nash, who played in five All-Star Games for Columbus, will represent the New York Rangers.

St. Louis Blues defenseman Kevin Shattenkirk and forward Vladimir Tarasenko each will make his first All-Star Game appearance, as will Nashville Predators goalie Pekka Rinne, whose teammate, defenseman Shea Weber, was selected for the fourth time.

Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin was chosen for the sixth time. Two goalies -- Roberto Luongo of the Florida Panthers and Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens -- were chosen for the fourth time.

Eight other players named Saturday will appear in their first All-Star Game: Arizona Coyotes defenseman Oliver Ekman-Larsson, Boston Bruins forward Patrice Bergeron, Calgary Flames defenseman Mark Giordano, Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Justin Faulk, Colorado Avalanche defenseman Erik Johnson, Edmonton Oilers forward Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Ottawa Senators forward Bobby Ryan and Vancouver Canucks forward Radim Vrbata.

Returning to the All-Star Game are: Anaheim Ducks forward Ryan Getzlaf (third selection), Dallas Stars forward Tyler Seguin (second), Detroit Red Wings goalie Jimmy Howard (second), Minnesota Wild defenseman Ryan Suter (second), New Jersey Devils forward Patrik Elias (fourth), New York Islanders forward John Tavares (second), Toronto Maple Leafs forward Phil Kessel (third), San Jose Sharks defenseman Brent Burns (second) and Winnipeg Jets defenseman Dustin Byfuglien (second).

The teams will be coached by Peter Laviolette of the Nashville Predators and Darryl Sutter of the Los Angeles Kings.

The rookies, who will compete only in the Skills Competition on Jan. 24, are Calgary Flames forward Johnny Gaudreau, Florida Panthers defenseman Aaron Ekblad, Los Angeles Kings forward Tanner Pearson, Nashville Predators forward Filip Forsberg, Ottawa Senators forward Mike Hoffman and Tampa Bay Lightning forward Jonathan Drouin.

First Six NHL All-Stars (voted by fans)

#50 Corey Crawford Total Votes 1,099,504
#2 Duncan Keith Total Votes 1,198,173
#7 Brent Seabrook Total Votes 1,016,992
#28 Zemgus Girgensons Total Votes 1,574,896
#19 Jonathan Toews Total Votes 1,217,210
#88 Patrick Kane Total Votes 1,232,201




Rookies (will participate in Honda NHL All-Star Skills Competition)

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.