Skip to main content
This Date in NHL History

June 24: Blackhawks top Bruins in Game 6 to win Stanley Cup

Plus: Flames relocate to Calgary from Atlanta; Devils win first championship in franchise history

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor

2013 Cup Final, Gm6: Hawks Win

2013 Cup Final, Gm6: Late goals propel Hawks to Cup

June 24: Bryan Bickell and Dave Bolland score late in the third period to lead the Blackhawks to their second Stanley Cup in four seasons

  • 01:15 •


2013: The Chicago Blackhawks take home the Stanley Cup for the second time in four seasons after one of the most stunning endings in playoff history.

The Blackhawks trail the Boston Bruins 2-1 with less than 90 seconds remaining in the third period of Game 6 of the Cup Final at TD Garden. But before Chicago coach Joel Quenneville has to decide when to pull goaltender Corey Crawford, the Blackhawks tie the game when forward Bryan Bickell scores on a shot from the slot. The teams are closing in on the fourth overtime game in the series, but Dave Bolland beats Boston goaltender Tuukka Rask from near the left post with 58.3 seconds remaining, giving Chicago a 3-2 victory and the Cup.

Video: Memories: Bickell's game-tying goal in the 3rd period

"We knew we were going to win it [after Bickell scored]," said Bolland, who scores on the rebound of a shot by defenseman Johnny Oduya that hits the post. "I don't know about regulation, but we knew we were going to win it."

The Bruins are stunned by the sudden turn of events.

"It's terrible," defenseman Johnny Boychuk said. "We're up one and ready go to Game 7. Then, all of a sudden, it's over."



1980: The Atlanta Flames relocate to Calgary, Alberta. The team keeps the name "Flames" and will play its home games in the Stampede Corral for three seasons until the Olympic Saddledome (now Scotiabank Saddledome) is completed in time for the 1983-84 season.


1995: The New Jersey Devils win the Stanley Cup for the first time in franchise history, completing a four-game sweep of the Final by defeating the Detroit Red Wings 5-2 in East Rutherford, New Jersey. Center Neil Broten's second goal of the game, at 7:56 of the second period, puts the Devils ahead 3-2 and turns out to be the Cup-winner. Defenseman Shawn Chambers also scores twice for New Jersey, which limits the Red Wings to 16 shots on goal and outshoots them 10-1 in the third period. Devils forward Claude Lemieux, who scores 13 goals in 20 postseason games, wins the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.