Skip to Main Content
This Date in NHL History

June 24: Blackhawks top Bruins for second title in four seasons

Plus: Flames relocate to Calgary; Devils win Cup for first time

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor

2013 Cup Final, Gm6: Hawks Win

2013 Cup Final, Gm6: Late goals propel Hawks to Cup

June 24: Bryan Bickell and Dave Bolland score late in the third period to lead the Blackhawks to their second Stanley Cup in four seasons

  • 01:15 •


2013: The Chicago Blackhawks take home the Stanley Cup for the second time in four seasons after one of the most stunning endings in playoff history.

The Blackhawks trail the Boston Bruins 2-1 with less than 90 seconds remaining in the third period of Game 6 of the Cup Final at TD Garden. But before Chicago coach Joel Quenneville has to decide when to pull goalie Corey Crawford, the Blackhawks tie the game when Bryan Bickell scores on a shot from the slot. The teams are closing in on the fourth overtime game in the series, but Dave Bolland beats Boston goalie Tuukka Rask from near the left post with 58.3 seconds remaining, giving Chicago a 3-2 victory and the Cup.

Video: Memories: Bickell's game-tying goal in the 3rd period

"We knew we were going to win it [after Bickell scored]," said Bolland, who scores on the rebound of a shot by defenseman Johnny Oduya that hits the post. "I don't know about regulation, but we knew we were going to win it."

The Bruins are stunned by the sudden turn of events.

"It's terrible," defenseman Johnny Boychuk says. "We're up one and ready go to Game 7. Then, all of a sudden, it's over."



1980: The Atlanta Flames relocate to Calgary, Alberta. The team keeps the name "Flames" and will play its home games in the Stampede Corral for three seasons until the Olympic Saddledome (now Scotiabank Saddledome) is completed in time for the 1983-84 season.


1995: The New Jersey Devils win the Stanley Cup for the first time in franchise history, completing a four-game sweep in the Final by defeating the Detroit Red Wings 5-2 in East Rutherford, New Jersey. Neil Broten scores his second goal of the game at 7:56 of the second period to put the Devils ahead 3-2, and it turns out to be the Cup-winner. Shawn Chambers also scores twice for New Jersey, which limits the Red Wings to 16 shots on goal and outshoots them 10-1 in the third period. Devils forward Claude Lemieux, who scores 13 goals in 20 postseason games, wins the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP.


2000: The New York Islanders select Rick DiPietro, a goalie from Boston University, with the No. 1 pick in the NHL Draft at Pengrowth Saddledome in Calgary. He's the first goalie taken with the top pick in the draft since 1968, when the Montreal Canadiens select Michel Plasse. After the Atlanta Thrashers take forward Dany Heatley at No. 2, the NHL's two newest teams make their first choices. The Minnesota Wild take Marian Gaborik, a forward from Slovakia, with the No. 3 pick, and the Columbus Blue Jackets select Rostislav Klesla, a defenseman from the Czech Republic, at No. 4.


2006: The Bruins acquire Rask from the Toronto Maple Leafs for goalie Andrew Raycroft in what turns out to be a one-sided trade. Raycroft, the 2004 Calder Trophy winner as the NHL's top rookie, spends less than two full seasons with Toronto and plays with three other teams before his NHL career ends. Rask, Toronto's first-round pick (No. 21) in the 2005 NHL Draft, never plays with the Maple Leafs but goes on to set the Bruins team record for career wins and helps Boston reach the Stanley Cup Final in 2013 and 2019.


2011: The San Jose Sharks acquire defenseman Brent Burns in a trade with the Minnesota Wild for forwards Charlie Coyle and Devin Setoguchi; Minnesota also gets San Jose's first-round pick in the 2011 NHL Draft, and San Jose gets Minnesota's second-round selection in the 2012 NHL Draft. Burns splits time between forward and defense until the 2014-15 season, when he becomes a full-time defenseman. From 2015-16 through 2018-19, Burns averages 21 goals and 75 points per season, and he wins the Norris Trophy as the NHL's top defenseman in 2016-17.


2016: The Maple Leafs pick center Auston Matthews with the first selection in the NHL Draft at First Niagara Center in Buffalo. Matthews, who grows up in Scottsdale, Arizona, idolizing Coyotes forward Shane Doan, is chosen after spending a season playing professionally in Switzerland rather than in junior hockey. Patrik Laine, a forward from Finland, is taken No. 2 by the Winnipeg Jets, and center Pierre-Luc Dubois goes No. 3 to Columbus.


View More