Skip to main content
This Date in NHL History

June 16: Red Wings sweep Capitals, win Cup for second straight season

Plus: Sharks hire Constantine as coach; Bourque named to NHL First All-Star Team for record 11th time

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor


1998: The Detroit Red Wings complete a four-game sweep of the Washington Capitals with a 4-1 win in Game 4 of the Final at MCI Center. They become the first team since the Pittsburgh Penguins in 1991 and 1992 to repeat as champions.

In the most emotional moment of the night, Red Wings captain Steve Yzerman, who wins the Conn Smythe Trophy as most valuable player of the Stanley Cup Playoffs, hands the trophy to defenseman Vladimir Konstantinov, who's on the ice in a wheelchair after sustaining head injuries in a career-ending limousine accident a year earlier.

"It was really gratifying for us to win and with Vlady in the building tonight," Yzerman says. "We were aware of his progress all year. He was never forgotten, but we never used him as a motivational ploy. But we've just grown closer as a family and it's probably the biggest reason we're a success."

Doug Brown scores two power-play goals for the Red Wings, who complete their second straight sweep in the Final and win the 11th championship in franchise history. Detroit's Scotty Bowman ties Toe Blake's coaching record by winning the Stanley Cup for the eighth time.

Video: Memories: Konstantinov's story inspires the Red Wings



1993: Kevin Constantine is hired as the second coach of the San Jose Sharks. Constantine, who's 34 when he's hired, takes over after San Jose goes 11-71-2 in its second NHL season. The Sharks improve by an NHL-record 58 points (33-35-16) in Constantine's first season, qualify for the playoffs for the first time and upset the Red Wings in the first round.


1994: Boston Bruins defenseman Ray Bourque sets a record by being named to the NHL First All-Star Team for the 11th time in his career. Bourque and Scott Stevens of the New Jersey Devils make the First Team on defense, ahead of Brian Leetch of the New York Rangers and Al MacInnis of the Calgary Flames. All four later are enshrined in the Hockey Hall of Fame.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.