Skip to main content

Ten nominees announced for Hobey Baker Award @NHLdotcom

The 10 nominees for the Hobey Baker Award, given annually to the top NCAA men's hockey player, have been announced.

The list is compiled from balloting from all 59 Division I college hockey coaches and by an online fan ballot. The three finalists, or the "Hobey Hat Trick," will be voted on by a 27-member selection committee and a second round of fan balloting to be held March 20-30, and will be announced on April 2. Fans can vote here.

The winner of the Hobey Baker Award will be announced Friday, April 11 at 6 p.m. ET from Philadelphia, the site of this year's NCAA Frozen Four Championship.

Here are the 10 finalists:

Josh Archibald

School: Nebraska-Omaha

Position: Right Wing

Class: Junior

Archibald, a sixth-round selection (No. 174) of the Pittsburgh Penguins in the 2011 NHL Draft, has 29 goals in 37 games, the second-highest in the NCAA behind Boston College forward Johnny Gaudreau (32). Archibald's 29 goals and two hat tricks each set a single-season goal record at Nebraska-Omaha.

Greg Carey

School: St. Lawrence

Position: Left wing

Class: Senior

A repeat Hobey Baker finalist, a recent signee of the Phoenix Coyotes and one of the top undrafted prospects in the NCAA, Carey, 23, has 18 goals in 38 games for St. Lawrence University. He leads the NCAA with 39 assists and is second in points with 57. In 2012-13, Carey's 28 goals and 14 power-play goals led the NCAA, and he became the first junior in Saints history to be a Hobey Baker finalist.

Nic Dowd

School: St. Cloud State

Position: Forward

Class: Senior

Dowd was a seventh-round selection (No. 198) of the Los Angeles Kings in the 2009 NHL Draft and a big part of St. Cloud State clinching its first ever National Collegiate Hockey Conference regular-season title with 21 goals and 39 points. His 10 power-play goals were tied for fifth in the nation and he's the first ever finalist from the state of Alabama (Huntsville).

Ryan Dzingel

School: Ohio State

Position: Forward

Class: Junior

A seventh-round pick (No. 204) of the Ottawa Senators in the 2011 draft, Dzingel led the Big Ten in points with 24 in 20 games. His 43 points (20 goals, 23 assists) in 34 games are tied for 12th in the country. A first-team all-conference performer, Dzingel has 18 power-play points and 12 multi-point games.

Johnny Gaudreau

School: Boston College

Position: Forward

Class: Junior

Gaudreau returns to the list after he was selected as a Hobey Hat Trick finalist last season. A fourth-round pick (No. 104) of the Calgary Flames in 2011, Gaudreau won the Hockey East scoring title and led the nation with 32 goals and 69 points, with his 37 assists ranking second in the country. He is also a finalist for the conference Player of the Year award and had points in all but two games, including a 31-game point streak that tied Paul Kariya's Hockey East record.

Shayne Gostisbehere

School: Union

Position: Defenseman

Class: Junior

Gostisbehere was a third-round pick (No. 78) of the Philadelphia Flyers in the 2012 draft and the second Union player to become a top-10 finalist (Troy Grosenick, 2012). His eight goals and 20 assists rank fifth on the Dutchmen, and his plus-22 is tied for fifth in the nation. In Eastern College Athletic Conference play, Gostisbehere was tied for fourth in defensemen scoring with four goals and 13 assists. His plus-19 was tied for first with Quinnipiac defenseman Danny Federico. Gostisbehere is a finalist for the conference's Best Defensive Defenseman award.

Kevin Hayes

School: Boston College

Position: Forward

Class: Senior

Hayes earned his spot in the Hobey Baker top 10 after averaging 1.51 points per game with 24 goals and 32 assists for 56 points in 37 games. That included a career-high 12-game point streak and an eight-game string of multi-point performances. Hayes was also named the 2014 Beanpot MVP following a strong performance to help lead the Eagles to their fifth-consecutive title. His plus-26 rating is tied for third in the nation.

CJ Motte

School: Ferris State

Position: Goaltender

Class: Junior

Motte helped lead Ferris State to the 2013-14 Western Collegiate Hockey Association regular-season title and is the third Bulldog player to be named a top-10 finalist for the Hobey Baker Award. Motte is 26-7-3 with a 2.19 goals-against average, .928 save percentage and four shutouts.

Joel Rumpel

School: Wisconsin

Position: Goaltender

Class: Junior

Rumpel, also a finalist for the inaugural Mike Richter Award, is second in the Big Ten and sixth in the nation in GAA (2.00) and save percentage (.931) for the sixth-ranked Badgers. The 23-year-old is 19-5-1, ranks fourth nationally with a .780 winning percentage, and has allowed two goals or fewer in nine consecutive games and 18 of 23 starts.

Adam Wilcox

School: Minnesota

Position: Goalie

Class: Sophomore

Wilcox leads the Big Ten and is third in the nation with 23 wins, a 1.91 GAA and a .934 save percentage. A sixth-round pick (No. 178) of the Tampa Bay Lightning in the 2011 draft, he is 48-12-11 in his collegiate career, with his six shutouts seventh on Minnesota's all-time list. Wilcox is also a finalist for the Mike Richter Award.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.