Skip to Main Content
Press Release

Sidney Crosby has chance to win fourth Ted Lindsay Award

Penguins center joined by Sharks defenseman Brent Burns, Oilers forward Connor McDavid as finalist for best player as voted by NHLPA members

by NHL Public Relations @PR_NHL

TORONTO -- The National Hockey League Players' Association (NHLPA) announced today the three finalists for the 2016-17 Ted Lindsay Award: defenceman Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks, centre Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins and centre Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers. The Ted Lindsay Award is presented annually "to the most outstanding player in the NHL," as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.

Crosby is vying for his fourth Award, while Burns and McDavid are each seeking to become the third consecutive first-time recipients of the Ted Lindsay Award (Carey Price, 2014-15; Patrick Kane, 2015-16). 

The 2016-17 Ted Lindsay Award recipient will be announced Wednesday, June 21, during the 2017 NHL Awards at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas. The three finalists received the most votes from their fellow players (listed below in alphabetical order): 


Brent Burns, San Jose Sharks 

Burns, of Barrie, Ontario, Canada, played in all 82 regular season games for the San Jose Sharks in 2016-17, and he helped his club qualify for the playoffs in the Western Conference. Burns led all NHL defencemen in goals (29), points (76), points per game (0.93), game-winning goals (6), and his total shots on goal (320) led the league, while he finished ninth in league scoring. Burns also set single-season franchise records for goals and points by a defenceman. He is the first defenceman to be voted a finalist in 17 years (since Chris Pronger, 1999-00); if selected, he would become only the second defenceman (following Bobby Orr, 1974-75) to receive the Award. Burns is a first-time Ted Lindsay Award finalist. 


Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins 

Crosby, of Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada, played in 75 regular season games for the Pittsburgh Penguins in 2016-17. Following a Stanley Cup-winning season, he captained the Penguins to the second-best record in the Eastern Conference. Crosby won his second Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy for scoring the most goals in the NHL (44). He tied for second in both points (89) and even-strength goals (30), while he placed second in points per game (1.19) and fifth in power-play goals (14). Crosby is one of six three-time recipients (Guy Lafleur, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Jaromir Jagr, Alexander Ovechkin) - a group he joined after he was voted the Ted Lindsay Award recipient in back-to-back seasons (2012-13, 2013-14). He also received the Award in his second season (2006-07). 


Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers 

McDavid, of Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada, played in all 82 regular season games for the Edmonton Oilers in 2016-17. In his second NHL season, he captained the Oilers to the fourth-most points in the Western Conference and the club's first playoff berth since 2006. McDavid won his first Art Ross Trophy for scoring the most points (100), while leading the NHL in assists (70), points per game (1.22), even-strength assists (45) and even-strength points (71). He also finished fourth in average ice-time per game among forwards (21:07) and third among forwards in power-play assists (24). He is looking to become the third Oilers player (Gretzky, Mark Messier) to receive the Award. McDavid is a first-time finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award. 


Ted Lindsay Award History

The Ted Lindsay Award is unique as the only award voted on by the players themselves, carrying on the tradition established by the Lester B. Pearson Award in 1970-71. The Award honours its namesake, Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership, and his role in establishing the original Players' Association.


Previous Award Recipients

Lester B. Pearson Award:    
1970-71   Phil Esposito
1971-72   Jean Ratelle
1972-73   Bobby Clarke
1973-74   Phil Esposito
1974-75   Bobby Orr
1975-76   Guy Lafleur
1976-77   Guy Lafleur
1977-78   Guy Lafleur
1978-79   Marcel Dionne
1979-80   Marcel Dionne
1980-81   Mike Liut
1981-82   Wayne Gretzky
1982-83   Wayne Gretzky
1983-84   Wayne Gretzky
1984-85   Wayne Gretzky
1985-86   Mario Lemieux
1986-87   Wayne Gretzky
1987-88   Mario Lemieux
1988-89   Steve Yzerman
1989-90   Mark Messier
1990-91   Brett Hull
1991-92   Mark Messier
1992-93   Mario Lemieux
1993-94   Sergei Fedorov
1994-95   Eric Lindros
1995-96   Mario Lemieux
1996-97   Dominik Hasek
1997-98   Dominik Hasek
1998-99   Jaromir Jagr
1999-00   Jaromir Jagr
2000-01   Joe Sakic
2001-02   Jarome Iginla
2002-03   Markus Naslund
2003-04   Martin St. Louis
2005-06   Jaromir Jagr
2006-07   Sidney Crosby
2007-08   Alexander Ovechkin
2008-09   Alexander Ovechkin

Ted Lindsay Award:    
2009-10   Alexander Ovechkin
2010-11   Daniel Sedin
2011-12   Evgeni Malkin
2012-13   Sidney Crosby
2013-14   Sidney Crosby
2014-15   Carey Price
2015-16   Patrick Kane

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.