Skip to main content
World Cup

Team Europe releases World Cup roster

Gaborik, Greiss highlight final seven players added

by David Satriano @davidsatriano / Staff Writer

Forward Marian Gaborik will join his Los Angeles Kings teammate Anze Kopitar on Team Europe for the 2016 World Cup of Hockey in Toronto this fall.

Gaborik was one of the final seven players named to the roster Friday. The Trencin, Slovakia native had 12 goals and 10 assists in 54 games during an injury-plagued 2015-16 season and has 386 goals in 933 NHL games in 15 seasons.

In addition to Gaborik, the other three forwards named were Nino Niederreiter (Switzerland) of the Minnesota Wild, Tobias Rieder (Germany) of the Arizona Coyotes and Pierre-Edouard Bellemare (France) of Philadelphia Flyers.

On defense, Christian Ehrhoff (Germany) of the Chicago Blackhawks and Luca Sbisa (Switzerland) of the Vancouver Canucks were added.

New York Islanders goalie Thomas Greiss (Germany) was the third goalie named to Team Europe. He was 23-11-4 with a 2.36 goals-against average and a .925 save percentage during the regular season and helped lead the Islanders into the second round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 1993.

The 2016 World Cup of Hockey will be played Sept. 17 to Oct. 1 at Air Canada Centre in Toronto. All games will be televised by ESPN in the United States and Sportsnet and TVA Sports in Canada.
Here is the entire Team Europe roster (alphabetically by position):


Pierre-Edouard Bellemare, Philadelphia Flyers (France); Mikkel Boedker, Colorado Avalanche (Denmark); Leon Draisaitl, Edmonton Oilers (Germany); Marian Gaborik, Los Angeles Kings (Slovakia); Jannik Hansen, Vancouver Canucks (Denmark); Marian Hossa, Chicago Blackhawks (Slovakia); Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings (Slovenia); Nino Niederreiter, Minnesota Wild (Switzerland); Frans Nielsen, New York Islanders (Denmark); Tobias Rieder, Arizona Coyotes (Germany); Tomas Tatar, Detroit Red Wings (Slovakia); Thomas Vanek, Minnesota Wild (Austria); Mats Zuccarello, New York Rangers (Norway) 


Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins (Slovakia); Christian Ehrhoff, Chicago Blackhawks (Germany); Roman Josi, Nashville Predators (Switzerland); Dennis Seidenberg, Boston Bruins (Germany); Andrej Sekera, Edmonton Oilers (Slovakia); Luca Sbisa, Vancouver Canucks (Switzerland); Mark Streit, Philadelphia Flyers (Switzerland)


Frederik Andersen, Anaheim Ducks (Denmark); Thomas Greiss, New York Islanders (Germany); Jaroslav Halak, New York Islanders (Slovakia)

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.