Skip to Main Content

Team Canada to feature five players wearing different numbers than in NHL @NHLdotcom

CALGARY - Five members of Team Canada will be wearing different numbers than they normally do in the NHL.

Hockey Canada released a list of its player numbers for the Olympics on Friday and it included a few unfamiliar choices: Ryan Getzlaf (No. 51), Patrick Marleau (No. 11), Corey Perry (No. 24), Eric Staal (No. 21) and Jonathan Toews (No. 16).

In all cases, younger players made the switch in deference to an older teammate.

Dany Heatley will wear Getzlaf's traditional No. 15; Jarome Iginla will be in the No. 12 usually worn by Staal and Marleau; Brenden Morrow has Perry's No. 10; and Joe Thornton will have on the No. 19 that Toews wears for the Chicago Blackhawks.

Among the other players, Sidney Crosby will be in his usual No. 87, Martin Brodeur has his No. 30 and captain Scott Niedermayer was given his normal No. 27.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.