Skip to main content


Tambellini, Ferriero draw in for Game 2

by Dan Rosen /
VANCOUVER, B.C. -- Both the Sharks and Canucks are making changes to their fourth lines for Game 2 tonight.

As expected, Vancouver coach Alain Vigneault is using Jeff Tambellini. After being a scratch in Game 1, Tambellini is replacing Tanner Glass, who did not skate in warm-ups with the Canucks.

Tambellini will be playing only his second playoff game this year and second of his career. He made his Stanley Cup Playoffs debut in Game 6 at Nashville and made a critical defensive play against Martin Erat late in the second period to help preserve the Canucks' 2-1 lead that wound up being the final score.

He will play on the left side of center Cody Hodgson and right wing Victor Oreskovich.

"It's a great opportunity, we're in a good spot so far, I'm just looking to add to what the guys did in Game 1," Tambellini said this morning. "We have a line with Cody in the middle is a guy that can make a really good play and is a reliable centerman, he's got a lot of energy. Hopefully I can bring an element of speed to that and really try to them (the Sharks) in their zone as much as we can."

Ben Ferriero is replacing Jamal Mayers on the Sharks' fourth line and will be in a right wing role beside center Scott Nichol and left wing Ben Eager. Ferriero played all seven games against Detroit, contributing a goal and six penalty minutes.

Sharks defenseman Jason Demers is again a scratch. He was not on the ice for warmups.

Demers was a surprise scratch in Game 1 after playing in all 13 games over the first two rounds of the playoffs. He did not skate Tuesday in the Sharks' full practice at the University of British Columbia and was not on the ice in their optional skate at Rogers Arena this morning.

The team has remained mum on what may ail Demers, if he has an injury at all. Kent Huskins, who played Sunday for the first time since Feb. 19, will again be paired with Marc-Edouard Vlasic to start the game.

Here are the rest of the lineups for Game 2, including the line combinations, defensive pairs and goaltending depth, which, of course, is still the same:


Patrick Marleau - Joe Thornton - Devin Setoguchi
Ryane Clowe - Logan Couture - Dany Heatley
Kyle Wellwood - Joe Pavelski - Torrey Mitchell
Ben Eager - Scott Nichol - Ben Ferriero

Dan Boyle - Douglas Murray
Ian White - Niclas Wallin
Marc-Edouard Vlasic - Kent Huskins

Antti Niemi
Antero Niittymaki


Daniel Sedin - Henrik Sedin - Alex Burrows
Chris Higgins - Ryan Kesler - Mason Raymond
Raffi Torres - Maxim Lapierre - Jannik Hansen
Jeff Tambellini - Cody Hodgson - Victor Oreskovich

Dan Hamuis - Kevin Bieksa
Alex Edler - Sami Salo
Aaron Rome - Christian Ehrhoff

Roberto Luongo
Cory Schneider

Follow Dan Rosen on Twitter at: @drosennhl

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.