Skip to main content
Press Release

2017 SAP NHL Global Series Set for Nov. 10 and Nov. 11 in Stockholm

Avalanche, Senators to face off in pair of regular-season games

by NHL Public Relations @PR_NHL / NHL.com

STOCKHOLM --The Colorado Avalanche and Ottawa Senators are set to face off in the 2017 SAP NHL Global Series™, a pair of regular-season games in Stockholm, Sweden, on Friday, Nov. 10, and Saturday, Nov. 11 at the Ericsson Globe.

The 2017 SAP NHL Global Series™ will mark the fifth time the NHL® has traveled to Europe to play regular-season games and the first such time since the 2011 Compuware NHL Premiere™, which took place in Berlin, Germany; Helsinki, Finland; and Stockholm, Sweden. These games reward the legion of loyal and passionate international fans by featuring some of the NHL's biggest stars and generating interest in the League worldwide. The games between Colorado and Ottawa on Nov. 10 and Nov. 11 will be the 21st and 22nd NHL® regular-season games played in Europe. They also will be the ninth and tenth NHL regular-season games played in Sweden.

The Avalanche head into the NHL Global Series™ ranking fourth in the Central Division with a record of 8-6-0 (16 points). The Senators sit in second place of the Atlantic Division with a record of 6-3-5 (17 points).

 The game on Nov. 10 will start at 8 p.m. CET/2 p.m. ET/Noon MT, with Colorado serving as the home team (TV3, Viasat Hockey and Viaplay; TSN5 and RDS in Canada; NHL Network™ and Altitude in the U.S.). The game on Nov. 11 will start at 7 p.m. CET/1 p.m. ET/11 a.m. MT with Ottawa serving as the home team (TV3, Viasat Hockey and Viaplay; Sportsnet and RDS in Canada; NHL Network and Altitude in the U.S.).

On Nov. 9, NHL.com/sv will live stream the 2017 SAP NHL Global Series team practices at Ericsson Globe in Stockholm. Fans will be able to watch the Avalanche practice at approximately 11:30 a.m. CET / 6:30 a.m. ET / 4:30 a.m. MT and the Senators practice at approximately 1:30 p.m. CET / 8:30 a.m. ET / 6:30 a.m. MT. Hosted by NHL.com/sv senior editor Peter Sibner with analysts Janne Bengtsson, Peter Ekholm, Sixten Funquist and Viasat broadcaster Erik Granqvist, each live stream will feature player interviews, analysis and more.

The NHL is a global League, with approximately 26 percent of NHL players this season having been born outside of North America. Senators captain and Landsbro, Sweden, native Erik Karlsson  as well as Avalanche captain and Stockholm, Sweden, native Gabriel Landeskog  will be playing in their home country for the first time as NHL players. Other Swedes currently playing for the two clubs include Ottawa's Frederik Claesson (Stockholm) and Johnny Oduya (Stockholm), and Colorado's Anton Lindholm  (Skelleftea), Carl Soderberg (Malmo) and Patrik Nemeth (Stockholm).

Ottawa was one of four NHL teams that traveled to Europe to play in the Bridgestone NHL Premiere™ 2008. In two games to open their regular season in Stockholm, the Senators traded victories with the Pittsburgh Penguins at the Ericsson Globe. The Senators roster at that time included two members of its current front office, Chris Phillips and Shean Donovan, who registered Ottawa's first-ever goal in Sweden on Oct. 4, 2008.

Colorado is making its second trip to Europe and its international regular-season debut. The Avalanche were part of the 2001 NHL Challenge Series™, and as defending Stanley Cup® champions defeated Brynas IF of the Swedish Elite League by a score of 5-3 thanks to Alex Tanguay's hat trick. Erik Johnson is the only player on the Avalanche's current roster to have played in an NHL regular-season game overseas (2009 Compuware NHL Premiere™ in Stockholm as a member of the St. Louis Blues).

The 2018 SAP NHL Global Series™ will be the ninth time the NHL has traveled to Sweden for either regular-season games, preseason games or exhibition games. Below is a timeline of the NHL's history in Sweden.

Jan. 27, 1965: Ulf Sterner, of Sweden, becomes the first European-trained player to appear in an NHL game as his New York Rangers defeat Boston 5-2.

1980: Anders Kallur and Stefan Persson of Sweden (New York Islanders) become the first European-trained players to have their names engraved on the Stanley Cup®.

Sept. 22, 1980: The Minnesota North Stars and Washington Capitals participate in a preseason round robin tournament against club teams in Sweden. The two NHL teams were joined by Swedish club teams, AIK and Djurgarden in a round-robin style tournament from September 22-26. The tournament was sponsored by a Swedish newspaper, which ponied up a $28,000 prize for the winner. The Capitals, who would go on to fashion a 26-36-18 regular season record, won the tournament with a perfect 3-0 record.

June 17, 1989: Sweden's Mats Sundin (Quebec Nordiques) becomes the first European player selected first overall in the NHL Draft™.

Sept. 1990: The Montreal Canadiens would host a part of their training camp in Sweden, before travelling to the Soviet Union with the Minnesota North Stars for an exhibition tournament.

Sept. 2000: The NHL returns to Sweden as the Vancouver Canucks face Swedish teams Djurgarden, AIK and MoDo at the Globe Arena in Stockholm. Vancouver defeated MoDo and Djurgarden to win the tournament. The Canucks defeated Swedish champ Djurgarden in the final in a thrilling 2-1 overtime game. Swedish rookie Daniel Sedin scored the game-winning goal to cap a memorable trip. AIK defeated MoDo to take third place in the tourney. Vancouver, which spent several days holding training camp in Sweden, beat MoDo, 5-3, in its opening game.

Sept. 2001: The Colorado Avalanche were part of the 2001 NHL Challenge Series™, and as defending Stanley Cup® champions defeated Brynas IF of the Swedish Elite League by a score of 5-3 thanks to Alex Tanguay's hat trick.

Sept. 2003: The Toronto Maple Leafs traveled to Sweden and Finland for a three-game tour as part of the NHL Challenge Series. Swedish hero Mats Sundin lead the NHL team against Swedish powers Djurgarden and Farjestad, and Finnish club Jokerit, sweeping all three clubs.­­

Feb. 2006: 151 NHL players represent their countries at the 2006 Olympic Winter Games in Turin. Sweden defeats Finland in the first gold-medal game between the longtime Scandinavian rivals.

June 2008: Swedish born defenseman Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings becomes the first European-born captain to hoist the Stanley Cup®; teammate and fellow Swede Henrik Zetterberg is voted the first European-born Conn Smythe Trophy winner as playoff MVP.

Sept. 2016: World Cup of Hockey 2016 pre-tournament games take place in Europe and North America prior to the opening of the 2016 NHL regular-season. Team Sweden opened its training camp in Gothenburg, where they hosted a pre-tournament game against Team Finland.

View More