Skip to Main Content

Stars to rock 2010 NHL Awards in Vegas @NHLdotcom
NEW YORK – The stars of the National Hockey League will come together with celebrities from music, stage and screen for a celebration of hockey at the star-studded 2010 NHL Awards on Wednesday, June 23, at the Pearl Concert Theater inside the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas.  The 2010 NHL Awards will be broadcast in high definition at 7:30 p.m. ET on VERSUS in the United States at and on CBC in Canada.  A limited number of tickets go on sale to the general public on Saturday, May 1 beginning at noon PT. 

As the NHL gets set to announce its official show hosts in the coming days, Hollywood star Mark Wahlberg, a Boston-native and long-time hockey fan, will be attending the 2010 NHL Awards as a special guest.  The Oscar-nominated actor will appear on stage during the Awards and help the League honor its Award nominees.  Wahlberg, who starred in The Lovely Bones in 2009, was most recently seen in the just-released Date Night and has two more new movies due out this year – The Fighter with Christian Bale and Amy Adams and The Other Guys with funnyman Will Ferrell.  George Stroumboulopoulos, host of CBC's The Hour, will join Wahlberg as special guest at the 2010 NHL Awards.  
Florida rockers Shinedown, whose current platinum album The Sound of Madness features the #1 hits "Second Chance" and "Devour" as well as new single "The Crow & The Butterfly," will perform at the 2010 NHL Awards live from the Pearl Concert Theater. The Sound of Madness is the third studio album from Shinedown and follows two massively successful albums – Us and Them and Leave a Whisper – that yielded a staggering seven consecutive top five rock and alternative radio hits that included "Fly From the Inside," "45," the chart-topping "Save Me," and a cover of Lynyrd Skynyrd's "Simple Man." Most recently, Shinedown's original song "Her Name is Alice" was featured on Almost Alice, the musical companion to Tim Burton's Alice in Wonderland. Shinedown's Barry Kerch, Brent Smith, Eric Bass and Zach Myers will rock the house at the 2010 NHL Awards with two live performances.

Grammy Award-nominated rapper Snoop Dogg is also set for a special musical performance at the 2010 NHL Awards ceremony in Las Vegas.  His newest album, More Malice, features the smash hits "I Wanna Rock" and "That Tree."  The deluxe album More Malice also included an original mini-movie, entitled "Malice N Wonderland The Movie," which features Snoop in the title role as a superhero saving his city from evil.  Other cameos in the movie Jamie Foxx, Xzibit and more.  An avid hockey fan, as witnessed on his hit reality show "Snoop Dogg's Fatherhood," Snoop is a staple at NHL Stanley Cup Playoff games and is excited to perform at this year's NHL Awards.

The world famous Cirque du Soleil brand will bring its artistry to the 2010 NHL Awards with a special performance from one of their seven Las Vegas productions, on stage at the Pearl Theater.  The high-energy acrobatics, dramatic dance and vibrant costumes and sets of Cirque du Soleil will add a theatrical element to the Awards show.  Details of the performance will be announced in the coming weeks.

Recognized as the top show in Las Vegas in 2009 by the Las Vegas Review Journal, the Las Vegas cast of the smash hit Tony Award-winning musical Jersey Boys also will be on hand for a special live performance.  

Tickets to the 2010 NHL Awards go on sale to the public via Ticketmaster .com at and at the Pearl Concert Theater Box Office beginning Saturday, May 1 at noon PT.  A cocktail reception will be held after the event at the Palms Pool & Bungalows.

The 2010 NHL Awards will be executive produced by Dave Broome.  Broome founded his own production company, 25/7 Productions, in 2003 and has gone on to create and executive produce reality television shows and specials for both network and cable – including the Tsunami Relief Special with George Clooney, the Radio Music Awards on NBC, and the NBC hit The Biggest Loser, which is currently in its ninth season and seen in over 90 countries worldwide.  Broome continues to executive produce the series under 25/7 Productions. Now he brings his creative vision to the 2010 NHL Awards, producing it under a newly formed company, Sweeping Palms Entertainment, LLC.  Sweeping Palms Entertainment is a joint venture between Broome's 25/7 Productions, Phil Maloof, the Maloof family  (The Palms Hotel, Sacramento Kings) and Tony Guanci, a longtime family partner. 

Individual honors to be presented at the 2010 NHL Awards include: Art Ross Trophy (top scorer for the regular season), Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey), Calder Memorial Trophy (outstanding rookie), Frank J. Selke Trophy (outstanding defensive forward), Hart Memorial Trophy (most valuable player to his team), Jack Adams Award (outstanding coach), James Norris Memorial Trophy (outstanding all-around defenseman), King Clancy Memorial Trophy presented by U.S. Army (leadership and humanitarian contribution to his community), Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct), Mark Messier Leadership Award Presented by Bridgestone (superior leader in hockey and a contributing member of society), Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy (top goal-scorer for the regular season), the NHL Foundation Player Award (charitable and community work), Williams M. Jennings Trophy (goaltender(s) on team with fewest goals-against), the NHL Lifetime Achievement Award, and Vezina Trophy (outstanding goaltender).

The Ted Lindsay Award, formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, which is presented annually to the "most outstanding player" in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association, also will be announced.

Following are the finalists for each award, in alphabetical order:

Kurtis Foster, Tampa Bay Lightning
Jed Ortmeyer, San Jose Sharks
Jose Theodore, Washington Capitals

Matt Duchene, Colorado Avalanche
Jimmy Howard, Detroit Red Wings
Tyler Myers, Buffalo Sabres

Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
Ryan Kesler, Vancouver Canucks
Jordan Staal, Pittsburgh Penguins

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks

Joe Sacco, Colorado Avalanche
Dave Tippett, Phoenix Coyotes
Barry Trotz, Nashville Predators

Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings
Mike Green, Washington Capitals
Duncan Keith, Chicago Blackhawks

Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
Brad Richards, Dallas Stars
Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings
Mike Green, Washington Capitals
Ryan Miller, Buffalo Sabres

Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils
Ilya Bryzgalov, Phoenix Coyotes
Ryan Miller, Buffalo Sabres

Additional musical performances, as well as special celebrity guests and the NHL's biggest stars confirmed to attend the 2010 NHL Awards will be announced in the coming weeks.  For more information, visit

View More