Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Situation Room Initiated Challenge: COL @ DAL - OT

Original call is overturned - no goal Stars @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: COL vs. DAL

Situation Room: Klingberg's game-winner overturned

John Klingberg buries a shot in overtime, but after review, it is determined that the Stars were offside on the play and the call is overturned

  • 03:30 •

At 3:52 of overtime in the Avalanche/Stars game, the Situation Room initiated a review under the terms of a Coach's Challenge to review whether Dallas was off-side prior to John Klingberg's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the linesmen, NHL Hockey Operations staff determined that Dallas' Tyler Seguin was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Linesman, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an "Off-side" infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Dallas Stars. The clock is re-set to show 1:27 (3:33 elapsed time), when the off-side infraction occurred. 


NOTE: In the final minute of play in the third period and at any point in Overtime (Regular Season and Playoffs), Hockey Operations will initiate the review of any scenario that would otherwise be subject to a Coach's Challenge.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.