Skip to Main Content

Stars' Jamie Benn wins Art Ross Trophy

by NHL Public Relations

Forward Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars has won his first career Art Ross Trophy, presented "to the player who leads the league in scoring points at the end of the regular season."

Benn entered the final day of the regular season third in the League scoring race with 83 points, one behind Pittsburgh Penguins forward Sidney Crosby and New York Islanders forward John Tavares. Benn moved to the front by tallying four points (3-1–4) in a 4-1 win over Nashville, including a goal and an assist in the final 2:05 of the third period. His late surge increased his season total to 87 points (35-52--87), one more than Tavares (38-48–86), who notched a goal and an assist in a 5-4 shootout loss to Columbus, and three more than Crosby (28-56–84), who did not record a point in his team's 2-0 win at Buffalo that clinched the Penguins a playoff berth. Benn, the first player in Stars history to win the scoring title, notched multiple points in five of his final six games of the season (7-8–15), including 10 points in his last three contests. The Stars captain established career highs in goals, assists and points, ahead of his previous highs of 34, 45 and 79, respectively, set in 2013-14.

Art Ross Trophy Winners Since 1990


2015Jamie Benn, Dal.John Tavares, NYI

2014Sidney Crosby, Pit.Ryan Getzlaf, Ana.

2013Martin St. Louis, T.B.Steven Stamkos, T.B.

2012Evgeni Malkin, Pit.Steven Stamkos, T.B.

2011Daniel Sedin, Van.Martin St. Louis, T.B.

2010Henrik Sedin, Van.Sidney Crosby, Pit.

2009Evgeni Malkin, Pit.Alex Ovechkin, Wsh.

2008Alex Ovechkin, Wsh.Evgeni Malkin, Pit.

2007Sidney Crosby, Pit.Joe Thornton, S.J.

2006Joe Thornton, S.J.Jaromir Jagr, NYR

2004Martin St. Louis, T.B.Ilya Kovalchuk, Atl.

2003Peter Forsberg, Col.Markus Naslund, Van.

2002Jarome Iginla, Cgy.Markus Naslund, Van.

2001Jaromir Jagr, Pit.Joe Sakic, Col.

2000Jaromir Jagr, Pit.Pavel Bure, Fla.

1999Jaromir Jagr, Pit.Teemu Selanne, Ana.

1998Jaromir Jagr, Pit.Peter Forsberg, Col.

1997Mario Lemieux, Pit.Teemu Selanne, Ana.

1996Mario Lemieux, Pit.Jaromir Jagr, Pit.

1995Jaromir Jagr, Pit.Eric Lindros, Phi.

1994Wayne Gretzky, L.A.Sergei Fedorov, Det.

1993Mario Lemieux, Pit.Pat LaFontaine, Buf.

1992Mario Lemieux, Pit.Kevin Stevens, Pit.

1991Wayne Gretzky, L.A.Brett Hull, St.L

1990Wayne Gretzky, L.A.Mark Messier, Edm.

View More