Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: DAL @ BUF - 1:38 of Second Period

Goal overturned as Stars deemed offsides @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: DAL vs. BUF

Situation Room: Eaves' goal overturned for offside

The Sabres challenge that the Stars were offside entering the zone prior to Patrick Eaves' goal, and after review, the goal is overturned

  • 02:19 •

At 1:38 of the second period in the Stars/Sabres game, Buffalo requested a Coach's Challenge to determine whether Dallas was off-side prior to their goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the linesmen, NHL Hockey Operations staff determined that Dallas' Patrick Eaves was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Toronto Video Room, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Linesman, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an "Off-side" infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed." 

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Dallas Stars.

The clock is re-set to show 18:31 (1:29 elapsed time), when the off-side infraction occurred.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Buffalo Sabres retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.