Skip to main content


St. Michael's Evans highlights Canada East roster

by Staff /

Jake Evans, a center with St. Michael's of the Ontario Junior Hockey League and a top prospect for the 2014 NHL Draft, was among the 22 players named to the Canada East roster for the 2013 World Junior A Hockey Challenge.

The roster was chosen after a four-day camp in Oakville, Ontario.

"It has been an exciting four days in Oakville, and as we expected there were some tough decisions to get down to 22 players," Canada East coach Ian MacInnis said. "As a coaching staff we're confident we've assembled the best roster and we're looking forward to getting to Yarmouth and getting started."

The tournament will be held Nov. 4-10 in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia.

Evans, a 6-foot-0.25, 172-pound center, is tied for eighth in the OJHL with 24 points in 19 games, and his 19 assists lead the team. Evans earned a "B" rating from NHL Central Scouting in its preliminary players to watch list, and is committed to the University of Notre Dame for the 2014-15 season.

Also on the team is defenseman Kelly Summers of Carleton Place of the Central Canadian Hockey League. The 6-1.75, 191-pounder leads all CCHL defensemen with 26 points in 22 games. He's committed to Clarkson for the 2014-15 season.

Canada East will play in Group A at the tournament, along with Russia and the United States. Canada West, Czech Republic and Switzerland are in Group B.


Goaltenders: Ben Blacker, Milton (OJHL); Jordan Piccolino, Cornwall (CCHL)

Defensemen: Greg Campbell, Oakville (OJHL); Matthew Cruickshank, Cornwall (CCHL); Evan MacEachern, Pictou County (MHL); Michael Prapavessis, Toronto Lakeshore (OJHL); Kelly Summers, Carleton Place (CCHL); Aaron Thow, Toronto (OJHL); Jake Walman, Toronto (OJHL)

Forwards: Taylor Best, Whitby (OJHL); Felix Chamberland, Pembroke (CCHL); Jake Evans, St. Michael's (OJHL); Charles Guevremont, Saint Jerome (LHJAAAQ); Croey Kalk, North York (OJHL); Morgan Messenger, Yarmouth (MHL); John Mullally, Pictou County (MHL); Mike Panowyk, Whitby (OJHL); Chase Pearson, Cornwall (CCHL); Derian Plouffe, Kanata (CCHL); Marly Quince, Cornwall (CCHL); Hunter Racine, Ottawa (CCHL); Mike Soucier, Wellington (OJHL).

View More