Skip to main content
Situation Room

Initiated Challenge: MET @ PAC - 3:24 of 2nd Period

Original call on ice overturned, no goal Pacific Division

NHL.com @NHL

Kesler's goal is overturned

Gretzky looks on as Kesler's goal is overturned

Coach Wayne Gretzky looks on as Ryan Kesler's goal is reviewed, and it is determined that Connor McDavid was offside so the goal is overturned

  • 00:35 •

At 3:24 of the second period in the final of the NHL All-Star Game, the Situation Room initiated a review under the terms of Coach's Challenge to determine whether the Pacific Division was off-side prior to their goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Linesman, NHL Hockey Operations staff determined that Connor McDavid was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Toronto Video Room, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Linesman, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an "Off-side" infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Pacific Division.

The clock is re-set to show 6:40 (3:20 elapsed time), when the off-side infraction occurred.

View More