Skip to Main Content

Senators lead all NHL teams with six players on ballot for 2008 all-star game @NHLdotcom

NEW YORK - The Ottawa Senators lead all teams with six players on the ballot for the 2008 NHL all-star game.

Ottawa forwards Dany Heatley, Jason Spezza and Daniel Alfredsson are joined by goaltender Ray Emery and defencemen Chris Phillips and Wade Redden. The Senators lead the NHL's overall standings.

The all-star game will be played Jan. 27 at Phillips Arena in Atlanta. The starting lineup for each conference is determined by the fans, with voting to begin Nov. 13.

For the second straight year, fan balloting will be entirely digital. Last year, an Internet campaign nearly saw Vancouver Canucks defenceman Rory Fitzpatrick voted a starter for the Western Conference as a write-in candidate.

The Canucks are one of several teams with five players on the ballot. The Calgary Flames also have five, one more than the Toronto Maple Leafs. The Montreal Canadiens have three players on the ballot while the Edmonton Oilers have two.

Each of the 30 NHL teams has at least two players on the ballot.

View More