Skip to main content

Selanne aiming for sixth Olympics with Finland

by Adam Kimelman

Teemu Selanne will get a chance to skate in his sixth Olympics when he joins 53 other players at Finland's Olympic evaluation camp.

Selanne, 42, made his Olympic debut in 1992, and also has skated in the 1998, 2002, 2006 and 2010 Games. In 31 Olympic games, Selanne has 20 goals and 17 assists. He won a silver medal in 2006.

The long-time NHL veteran has not announced if he plans on returning to the NHL for a 21st season.

Finland invited 18 players from the team that won the bronze medal four years ago in Vancouver to this year's camp, including Niklas Hagman, who led the 2010 team with four goals and six points.

Also attending the camp is Winnipeg Jets forward Olli Jokinen, who was second on the team with three goals.

Among the other forwards from 2010 invited back are Minnesota Wild captain Mikko Koivu, Anaheim Ducks center Saku Koivu, Valtteri Filppula of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Tuomo Ruutu of the Carolina Hurricanes.

The defense at the camp will be anchored by seven returnees from the 2010 team, among them Kimmo Timonen (Philadelphia Flyers), Joni Pitkanen (Carolina Hurricanes) and Sami Salo (Tampa Bay Lightning).

Minnesota Wild goalie Niklas Backstrom, who was the backup to Miikka Kiprusoff on the 2010 team, was one of eight goalies invited to the camp. Among those joining him are Kari Lehtonen (Dallas Stars), Antti Niemi (San Jose Sharks), Tuukka Rask (Boston Bruins) and Pekka Rinne (Nashville Predators).



Juhamatti Aaltonen (free agent) Aleksander Barkov (Florida) Sean Bergenheim (Florida)
*Valtteri Filppula (Tampa Bay) Mikael Granlund (Minnesota) *Niklas Hagman (free agent)
Teemu Hartikainen (KHL) Juha-Pekka Hytonen (Lausanne, SUI) Jarkko Immonen (KHL)
Jesse Joensuu (Edmonton) Jussi Jokinen (Pittsburgh) *Olli Jokinen (Winnipeg)
*Niko Kapanen (free agent) *Mikko Koivu (Minnesota) *Saku Koivu (Anaheim)
Leo Komarov (KHL) Petri Kontiola (KHL) Lauri Korpikoski (Phoenix)
Jarno Koskiranta (KHL) Jori Lehtera (Sibir Novosibirsk, KHL) Ville Leino (Buffalo)
*Antti Miettinen (Gotteron, SUI) Janne Pesonen (Ak Bars Kazan, KHL) Lennart Petrell (Edmonton)
Antti Pihlstrom (KHL) *Jarkko Ruutu (Jokerit, SM-liiga) *Tuomo Ruutu (Carolina)
Sakari Salminen (KHL) Veli-Matti Savinainen (KHL) *Teemu Selanne (Anaheim)
Juuso Hietanen (KHL) Topi Jaakola (KHL) Joonas Jarvinen (Nashville)
Jere Karalahti (KHL) *Lasse Kukkonen (Karpat, SM-liiga) Teemu Laakso (KHL)
*Sami Lepisto (KHL) *Toni Lydman (free agent) Tuukka Mantyla (KHL)
*Janne Niskala (KHL) Petteri Nummelin (Lukko, SM-liiga) *Joni Pitkanen (Carolina)
*Sami Salo (Tampa Bay) *Kimmo Timonen (Philadelphia) Sami Vatanen (Anaheim)
Ossi Vaananen (Jokerit, SM-liiga)
*Niklas Backstrom (Minnesota) Kari Lehtonen (Dallas) Antti Niemi (San Jose)
Antti Raanta (Chicago) Tuukka Rask (Boston) Pekka Rinne (Nashville)
Karri Ramo (Calgary) Petri Vehanen (KHL)

*- played on 2010 Olympic team

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.