Skip to main content

Sedin is NHL MVP, snaps Ovechkin's bid for 3-peat @NHLdotcom

LAS VEGAS (AP) -Henrik Sedin wrecked Alex Ovechkin's bid for an NHL MVP three-peat.

The Vancouver Canucks star, who had a league-best 83 assists, captured the Hart Trophy on Wednesday night during the NHL's awards ceremony in Las Vegas. Ovechkin, the captain of the Washington Capitals, had to settle for runner-up status after taking home the prize each of the last two years.

"It's a strange feeling," Sedin said. "I'm very proud, so its a great honor."

Sedin received 46 of 133 first-place votes, Ovechkin was second with 40, and Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby finished third with 20. Sedin had 894 total points compared with 834 for Ovechkin.

"These players are second to none," Sedin said.

Ovechkin was honored earlier in the night by his fellow players, winning the award for top player that is presented by the NHL Players' Association.

"Life goes on, so it's OK," Ovechkin said. "By the players - it's the most important thing."

Ovechkin would have been the first three-peat winner of the Hart since Wayne Gretzky won eight straight from 1980 to 1987.

Sedin posted a career high 112 points, 30 more than his previous best. Crosby tied for the NHL lead with 51 goals and was second with 109 points. He won the Hart in 2007.

Buffalo Sabres defenseman Tyler Myers won the Calder Trophy as the league's rookie of the year. He beat finalists Colorado center Matt Duchene and Detroit goalie Jimmy Howard.

"I was nervous for my speech," Myers said. "I can't believe I'm at this point right now, and to be able to share it with family and friends was a pretty special moment for me."

Dave Tippett of the Phoenix Coyotes won the Jack Adams Award as the NHL's most outstanding coach after leading his team to the playoffs for the first time since 2002. The team set franchise records with 50 wins and 107 points. Tippett received 57 of 59 first-place votes in balloting by the NHL Broadcasters' Association.

Duncan Keith of the Chicago Blackhawks won the Norris Trophy as hockey's top defenseman, and Detroit Red Wings center Pavel Datsyuk won the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the NHL's top defensive forward for the third straight year.

Tampa Bay Lightning forward Martin St. Louis won the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy as the NHL's most well-behaved player after recording only 12 penalty minutes all season.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.