Skip to main content

Schwartz, Tarasenko among Blues sent to AHL

by Staff

The St. Louis Blues on Friday assigned 24 players to their American Hockey League affiliate, the Peoria Rivermen, among them 2010 first-round picks Jaden Schwartz and Vladimir Tarasenko.

Schwartz, the 14th pick of the draft, had two goals and an assist in seven games with the Blues late last season, after a college season that saw him total 15 goals and 26 assists in 30 games at Colorado College. He also had two goals and three assists and served as team captain for Canada at the 2012 IIHF World Junior Championship.

Tarasenko, the 16th pick in 2010, signed with the team last month. He had 23 goals and 24 assists in 54 games with Sibir and SKA St. Petersburg in the Kontinental Hockey League last season, his fourth in the KHL.

Also sent to Peoria were goalies Jake Allen, Paul Karpowich and Mike McKenna; defensemen Taylor Chorney, Ian Cole, Mark Cundari, Cade Fairchild, Scott Ford, Brett Ponich and David Shields; and forwards Jay Barriball, Cody Beach, Adam Cracknell, Stefan Della Rovere, Evgeny Grachev, Phillip McRae, Andrew Murray, Anthony Nigro, Anthony Peluso, Tyler Shattock, Brett Sonne, and Sebastian Vannstrom.

The Blues also sent goalie Jordan Binnington (Owen Sound, OHL) and Ty Rattie (Portland, WHL) to their junior clubs, and defenseman Jani Hakanpaa (Espoo, Finland) to his European club.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.