Skip to main content

Sbisa in for Ducks; Lashoff, Samuelsson for Wings

by Corey Masisak

DETROIT -- The Anaheim Ducks and Detroit Red Wings will make changes to their lineups for Game 3 of this Western Conference Quarterfinals series Saturday night at Joe Louis Arena.

Defenseman Luca Sbisa, who hasn't played since April 13, will return for the Ducks. He battled an injury near the end of the regular season and was a healthy scratch for the first two games of the best-of-7 series, which is tied after Detroit's 5-4 overtime win in Game 2 at Honda Center.

Veteran Sheldon Souray likely will come out of the lineup to make room for Sbisa, who had one goal and eight points in 41 games this season.

Ducks coach Bruce Boudreau said he won't make a decision until he arrives at the arena, but the team's official Twitter feed said Sbisa is in for Souray.

There also was a tweak among the forward lines, with Kyle Palmieri moving up to the top line and Bobby Ryan dropping the second unit. Coach Bruce Boudreau had scrambled the lines during the third period of Game 2 anyway in an effort to produce a comeback after the team fell behind 4-1.

Detroit coach Mike Babcock said rookie Brian Lashoff will replaced injured rookie Danny DeKeyser on the blue line, which was expected, but also that forward Mikael Samuelsson will take the place of Todd Bertuzzi.

Samuelsson will start on the fourth line, and he took repetitions on the point with the second power-play unit.

Though many coaches are loathe to discuss lineup decisions, Babcock not only divulged his changes, but he also was forthcoming with his line-matching plans. He said he will put either Pavel Datsyuk's or Valtteri Filppula's line against the top trio for Anaheim, and match Joakim Andersson's line against the Ducks' third unit.

Here are the projected lineups:


Kyle Palmieri - Ryan Getzlaf - Corey Perry

Bobby Ryan - Nick Bonino - Teemu Selanne

Daniel Winnik - Saku Koivu - Andrew Cogliano

Matt Beleskey - David Steckel - Emerson Etem

Cam Fowler - Francois Beauchemin

Bryan Allen - Toni Lydman

Luca Sbisa - Ben Lovejoy

Jonas Hiller

Viktor Fasth

Scratched: Brad Staubitz, Radek Dvorak, Sami Vatanen, Patrick Maroon, Devante Smith-Pelly, Matthew Lombardi


Henrik Zetterberg - Pavel Datsyuk - Justin Abdelkader

Valtteri Filppula - Johan Franzen - Daniel Cleary

Gustav Nyquist - Joakim Andersson - Damien Brunner

Patrick Eaves - Cory Emmerton - Mikael Samuelsson

Niklas Kronwall - Jonathan Ericsson

Kyle Quincey - Brendan Smith

Jakub Kindl - Brian Lashoff

Jimmy Howard

Jonas Gustavsson

Scratched: Jordin Tootoo, Todd Bertuzzi, Ian White, Carlo Colaiacovo

Injured: Darren Helm (back), Drew Miller (hand), Danny DeKeyser (thumb)

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.