Skip to main content


Situation Room

Video Review: SJS @ NSH - 9:55 of the First Period

Tierney's stick was at or below height of crossbar; good goal San Jose @NHL

Situation Room: SJS vs. NSH

Situation Room: Tierney's goal stands

R2, Gm6: Following video review, it's determined that Chris Tierney's deflection occurred below the crossbar, and his 1st-period goal stands

  • 01:41 •

At 9:55 of the first period in the Sharks/Predators game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Chris Tierney's stick was at or below the height of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Nashville net. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good goal San Jose.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.