Skip to main content

Sabres' Tyler Myers wins Calder Trophy @NHLdotcom
Defenseman Tyler Myers of the Buffalo Sabres has won the Calder Memorial Trophy for 2009-2010, awarded "to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League."

Myers received 94 of 133 first-place votes and 1,178 points, outdistancing Detroit Red Wings goaltender Jimmy Howard (778 points) and Colorado Avalanche center Matt Duchene (755).

Myers not only won an NHL roster spot as a 19-year-old, he posted statistics befitting an established veteran. The 6'8", 222-lb. defenseman led the Sabres in ice time per game (23:44), three minutes more than blueline partner Henrik Tallinder who ranked second. He shared second place on the club in plus-minus (+13) and was fifth in scoring (11-37--48). Myers ranked at or near the top in several rookie categories, including average ice time (first), shorthanded time (first, 3:04), assists (first), blocked shots (first, 137), plus-minus (T-second) and points (third). He also was one of four rookies to play all 82 games.

The Sabres' top pick, 12th overall, in the 2008 Entry Draft, Myers is the first defenseman to win the Calder since St. Louis' Barret Jackman in 2003 and the third player in franchise history, following Gilbert Perreault (1971) and Tom Barrasso (1984).

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.