Skip to main content


Sabres to induct Hasek into team Hall of Fame @NHL

The Buffalo Sabres announced Thursday that six-time Vezina Trophy-winning goalie Dominik Hasek will be inducted into the team's Hall of Fame during a ceremony March 29 at First Niagara Center.

Hasek will become the 42nd member of the Sabres Hall of Fame. He will be honored prior to the game against the Tampa Bay Lightning.

Best known for his concentration, flexibility and unconventional style between the pipes, Hasek became the first goalie in NHL history to win the Hart Trophy twice (1997, 1998). He won his six Vezina trophies in a span of nine years and closed his career in 2008 with 389 wins, 11th-most in League history. His 81 shutouts are tied for sixth, and his 735 games played are second-most among European-born goaltenders.

In nine seasons with the Sabres (1992-2001), Hasek had 234 wins and a franchise-record 55 shutouts in 491 games. In addition to his Hart and Vezina trophies, Hasek twice won the William M. Jennings Trophy (1994, 2001) and was a two-time winner of Ted Lindsay Award (1997, 1998).

Hasek is the Sabres' all-time leader among goalies in Stanley Cup Playoff games (68), playoff wins (37) and playoff shutouts (six). He helped the Sabres reach the 1999 Stanley Cup Final, going 13-6 with a 1.77 goals-against average and .939 save percentage in 19 postseason games.

Hasek was chosen by the Chicago Blackhawks in the 10th round of the 1983 NHL Draft (No. 199) and was acquired by the Sabres on Aug. 7, 1992 in a trade for goaltender Stephane Beauregard and a 1993 fourth-round draft pick.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.