Skip to main content

Sabres' Miller wins first Vezina Trophy @NHLdotcom
Ryan Miller of the Buffalo Sabres has captured his first Vezina Trophy, awarded to the "goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position," as selected by NHL General Managers. Prior to 1981-82, the Vezina was awarded to the goaltender(s) whose team allowed the fewest goals during the regular season, the current criterion for the William Jennings Trophy.

Miller was named on 28 of 30 ballots, including 23 first-place selections, and collected 126 points. Phoenix Coyotes goaltender Ilya Bryzgalov finished a strong second, receiving votes on 27 of 30 ballots and totaling 79 points.

Miller led the Sabres to the Northeast Division title for the second time in the past four seasons. He set a franchise record and ranked fourth among NHL goaltenders with 41 wins; placed second in the League in goals-against average (2.22) and save percentage (.929); and tied a career high with five shutouts. Miller continued to excel following his MVP performance for Team USA at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games, going 9-2-1 in his first 12 decisions after collecting the silver medal in Vancouver.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.