Skip to main content

Ryan, Versteeg, Mason selected as nominees for Calder Trophy @NHLdotcom

NEW YORK - Anaheim Ducks forward Bobby Ryan, Columbus Blue Jackets goaltender Steve Mason and Chicago Blackhawks forward Kris Versteeg are the finalists for the Calder Trophy as the NHL's rookie of the year, the league announced Wednesday.

Ryan, the second pick in the 2005 draft, recorded 31 goals and 57 points - both tops among first-year players - in just 57 games with the Ducks. He earned rookie-of-the-month honours in January with 11 goals and five assists in 14 games.

Mason, taken in the third round (69th overall) by the Blue Jackets in 2006, led the NHL with 10 shutouts and ranked second with a 2.29 goals-against average. His emergence lifted the Blue Jackets to the first playoff appearance in franchise history.

Versteeg, a fifth-round choice (134th overall) of the Boston Bruins in 2004, led all rookies with 31 assists while finishing second to Ryan with 53 points. He added a rookie-best four shorthanded goals.

The trophy will be handed out June 18 during the NHL awards ceremony in Las Vegas.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.