Skip to main content

Ryan, Mason, Versteeg finalists for Calder Trophy @NHLdotcom

NEW YORK (AP) - Anaheim's Bobby Ryan, Columbus' Steve Mason and Chicago's Kris Versteeg have been selected finalists for the Calder Trophy.

The NHL announced the finalists for rookie of the year on Wednesday.

Ryan, the second pick in the 2005 draft, recorded 31 goals and 57 points. That's tops among first-year players.

Mason, taken in the third round by the Blue Jackets in 2006, led the NHL with 10 shutouts and ranked second with a 2.29 goals-against average. His emergence lifted the Blue Jackets to the first playoff appearance in franchise history.

Versteeg, a fifth-round choice of the Boston Bruins in 2004, led all rookies with 31 assists while finishing second to Ryan with 53 points.

The trophy will be awarded June 18 in Las Vegas.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.