Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: ARI @ PHI - 8:10 of Third Period

Original call stands, good goal Arizona

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: ARI vs. PHI

Situation Room: Richardson's SHG stands after review

The Flyers challenge Brad Richardson's goal for goaltender interference, but after review the goal stands as Richardson was pushed into the net

  • 01:19 •

At 8:10 of the third period in the Coyotes/Flyers game, Philadelphia requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Brad Richardson interfered with goaltender Steve Mason before the puck entered the net.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Flyers defenseman Ivan Provorov tripped Richardson into Mason before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance with Note 2 of Rule 78.7 (ii) which states, in part, that the goal on the ice should be allowed because "the attacking Player was pushed, shoved or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Arizona Coyotes.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Philadelphia Flyers forfeit their time-out

View More