Skip to Main Content

'Raising the Cup' schedule for July 19-23 @NHLdotcom
Every weekday throughout July and August, the NHL Network-U.S. will air a special series, "35 Years of Stanley Cup Clinchers, 1975-2010." Fans can watch a re-broadcast of Stanley Cup-clinching games from seasons past with a chance to vote for their top five contests. Those top five games -- Fans' Choice Encores -- will air from Aug. 23-27.

Here is the schedule for July 19-23:

Monday, July 19
1985: Philadelphia at Edmonton, Game 5

Video Highlights

In the 1985 Stanley Cup Playoffs, Wayne Gretzky set new records for assists (30) and points (47) in one playoff year. Gretzky also tied the modern record shared by Jean Beliveau (1956) and Mike Bossy (1982) for most goals in the Stanley Cup Final with 7 in five games. Jari Kurri scored 19 goals in 18 games to tie the record (Reggie Leach in 1976) for goals in one playoff year. Kurri also broke teammate Mark Messier's record for most hat tricks in a playoff year with four, including one four-goal game. Paul Coffey, who registered 12 goals and 25 assists in 18 games, shattered the one-year playoff records for goals, assists and points by a defenseman. Coffey broke Bobby Orr's records for goals (9 in 1970) and assists (19 in 1972), and Denis Potvin's record for points (25 in 1981). Edmonton's Grant Fuhr tied New York Islanders goaltender Bill Smith for most wins in a playoff year (15). Fuhr posted a 15-3 record in 18 games. Smith amassed 15 wins in both 1980 and 1982. For the first time in the Final, two penalty shots were awarded in the same series -- and Fuhr stopped both of them.

Tuesday, July 20
1986: Montreal at Calgary, Game 5

Video Highlights

The Montreal Canadiens set a new professional record for championships by winning their 23rd Stanley Cup. Montreal had been tied with the New York Yankees, who had amassed 22 World Series titles through this point in their history. The series between the Canadiens and the Calgary Flames marked the first all-Canadian Final since Montreal and Toronto faced off in 1967.

Brian Skrudland scored nine seconds into overtime in Game 2 to set a record for the fastest overtime goal in playoff history, eclipsing the old mark of 11 seconds set by J.P. Parise of the New York Islanders on April 11, 1975.

Twenty-year-old goaltender Patrick Roy became the youngest player to win the Conn Smythe Trophy in the 22-year history of the award. Roy posted a record-tying 15 playoff wins (15-5) and a 1.92 goals-against average in 20 postseason games.

Wednesday, July 21
1987: Philadelphia at Edmonton, Game 7

Video Highlights

After a year's absence, the Edmonton Oilers returned to the Final and captured their third Stanley Cup title in four seasons.

Edmonton and Philadelphia carried the championship series to a full seven games for the first time since the Montreal Canadiens and Chicago Black Hawks in 1971. Philadelphia goaltender Ron Hextall received the Conn Smythe Trophy, joining Roger Crozier (1966 Detroit Red Wings), Glenn Hall (1968 St. Louis Blues) and Reggie Leach (1976 Philadelphia Flyers) as the only players on a losing club to be so honored.

Thursday, July 22
1988: Boston at Edmonton, Game 4

Video Highlights

The Edmonton Oilers won their fourth Stanley Cup title in five years with a 4-0 series victory against the Boston Bruins, who were making their first appearance in the Stanley Cup Final in 10 years.

For the first time since 1927, a Stanley Cup Final game failed to determine a winner. During the fourth game of the series, a power failure at Boston Garden halted play at 16:37 of the second period with the teams tied 3-3. Under NHL bylaws, the match was suspended, to be made up in its entirety only in the event that a seventh and deciding game was necessary.

Thus the series shifted back to Edmonton where the Oilers, still holding a 3-0 series lead, won 6-3 to take home the Cup. Wayne Gretzky was selected as the Conn Smythe Trophy winner for the second time in his career, establishing a Stanley Cup Final series record of 13 points on 3 goals and 10 assists.

Friday, July 23
1989: Calgary at Montreal, Game 6

Video Highlights

The Calgary Flames won their first Stanley Cup with a 4-2 series victory against the Montreal Canadiens, who had defeated Calgary for the Stanley Cup in 1986. The Flames wrapped up the series with a 4-2 triumph in Montreal in Game 6, becoming the first visiting team to beat the Canadiens for the Stanley Cup on Forum ice.

Goaltender Mike Vernon tied an NHL playoff record by registering 16 postseason wins, tying the mark Edmonton's Grant Fuhr had set the previous year.

Al MacInnis became the fourth defenseman to win the Conn Smythe Trophy since the award was instituted in 1965. MacInnis joined Serge Savard (1969), Bobby Orr (1970 and 1972) and Larry Robinson (1978). MacInnis led the League in playoff scoring with 31 points (7 goals, 24 assists) and amassed a 17-game consecutive point-scoring streak, equaling the second-longest in NHL playoff history and the longest ever by a defenseman.

Follow NHL Network US on Twitter at: @NHLNetUSA

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.