Skip to main content

QMJHL reduces regular-season schedule, switches to four-division format @NHLdotcom

BOUCHERVILLE, Que. - The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League is undergoing a major facelift in time for next season.

QMJHL commissioner Gilles Courteau confirmed Thursday the league will move to a four-division system beginning in 2008-09, a significant change from the current two-division format. The schedule will be reduced from 70 to 68 games, and the playoff format will also be altered.

"After taking into account club requests and a thorough analysis, I am pleased to announce that the QMJHL will harbour four divisions next season," said Courteau.

The Telus West Division will consist of the Gatineau Olympiques, Rouyn-Noranda Huskies, Val-d'Or Foreurs and Montreal Juniors, who are being relocated from St. John's, N.L.

The Drummondville Voltigeurs, Lewiston Maineiacs, Shawinigan Cataractes and Victoriaville Tigres comprise the Telus Centre Division, while the Baie-Comeau Drakkar, Chicoutimi Sagueneens, Quebec Remparts and Rimouski Oceanic will make up the Telus East Division.

The remaining six teams - the Acadie-Bathurst Titan, Cape Breton Screaming Eagles, Halifax Mooseheads, Moncton Wildcats, P.E.I. Rocket and Saint John Sea Dogs - will form the Atlantic Division.

The two teams with the worst regular-season records will be left out of the playoffs, with first-round games being played between teams in the same division. Teams will then be seeded to decide second-round pairings.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.