Skip to main content

Price wins Ted Lindsay Award as most outstanding player voted by NHLPA @NHLdotcom

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens began what could be a big night at the NHL awards by winning the Ted Lindsay Award as the most outstanding player as voted by the Players' Association.

Price became just the third goaltender to win the award and the first since Dominik Hasek of the Detroit Red Wings in 1998.

The 27-year-old broke Jacques Plante's franchise record with 44 victories and led the Canadiens to first place in the Atlantic Division.

Price, who had a league-best 1.96 goals-against average and .933 save percentage, beat out Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals and Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars for the Lindsay.

He's also favoured to win the Hart Trophy as MVP and Vezina Trophy as the best goaltender.

"I'm nervous now than I've ever been playing hockey," Price said in accepting the award from Lindsay, a Hockey Hall of Famer. "My teammates, I couldn't do this without you guys."


Follow @SWhyno on Twitter

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.