Skip to main content
Hall of Fame

McGuire named to Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee

Broadcaster replaces Bowman, whose 15-year term limit ended @NHLdotcom

Pierre McGuire of NBC Sports was named to the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee on Tuesday.

The broadcaster replaces Scotty Bowman, whose 15-year term limit concluded Dec. 31.

"To receive a call from (chairman of the board of the Hockey Hall of Fame) Lanny McDonald asking me to accept a position on the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee is something I never thought was possible," McGuire said. "I am honored and excited to know that I will be a part of this amazing group of hockey people whose mandate is to uphold the Hall's standards of excellence in the process of celebrating the game's greatest players, builders and officials."

Additionally, four members of the Selection Committee were reappointed for three-year terms: David Branch, president of the Canadian Hockey League; Calgary Flames president of hockey operations Brian Burke; 2010 Elmer Ferguson Award winner Marc de Foy; Hockey Hall of Fame member Mike Gartner; and former NHL player Anders Hedberg.

The list of players inducted into the Hall of Fame for 2018 will be announced in June, and will mark the 75th anniversary of the Hall's inception, Sept. 10, 1943. Long-time New Jersey Devils goaltender Martin Brodeur is a first-time candidate, and other players that could receive consideration are Martin St. Louis, Daniel Alfredsson and Alexander Mogilny.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.