Skip to Main Content

PHWA announces finalists for 2007-08 Dick Dillman Award

by NHL Public Relations

PITTSBURGH -- The Professional Hockey Writers Association announced today that the Dallas Stars, Minnesota Wild, Montreal Canadiens, Philadelphia Flyers, San Jose Sharks and Washington Capitals are the finalists for the Dick Dillman Award, given annually to the team judged to be tops in media relations.

The Dillman Award honors the memory of the late Dick Dillman, who was a highly respected media relations guru for the now-defunct Minnesota North Stars.

The PHWA presents separate Dillman awards for the Eastern and Western Conferences. The Canadiens, Capitals and Flyers are the Eastern candidates, while Sharks, Stars and Wild are candidates in the West. The winners will be announced at the NHL draft in Ottawa on June 20.

The Sharks have won two of the past three Dillman awards, and the Capitals won the Eastern Conference Dillman in 2007. Minnesota won in 2005-06 when only one Dillman was awarded.

All members of the PHWA are eligible to vote for the Award, and voters are asked to consider multiple factors, including, fairness, cooperation, efficiency, accuracy and presentation of media notes, quality of media guide and willingness to help facilitate interviews.

"Dick Dillman was a first rate PR guy and a friend to our members for many years, and we are happy to to salute his memory by honoring media relations specialists who do their job the way Dick did his," said PHWA President Kevin Allen.

Dillman's daughter, Lisa, a sportswriter for the Los Angeles Times who covers hockey, will present the awards in Ottawa.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.